how to add 6tb SATA drive

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by garry35, Nov 13, 2018.

  1. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    404
    cant add 6tb SATA drive in one large partition. i have tried to add it but on 2tb can be seen, which seems to suggest that its operating in MBR mode, but i also have a 3tb drive working and seen as the whole 3tb without any partitioning (or whatever is left usable)
     
  2. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,086
    The first thing to do is to convert it to GPT. Until you can verify that your disk is GPT, nothing else will help.
     
  3. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    404
    after trying to work in GPT it wont windows disk admin tool keeps going back to MBR and many attempts it keeps doing the same. i have tried various free partition tools and bootable cd's without success
     
  4. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,086
    If it is the current system drive, that is in use, it can't be converted. Maybe that's the problem?
    If not, we need input here from someone else...
     
  5. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    404
    sorry for the late info, but i should have said that its attached to a dock via a USB cable so its external and not the system OS drive. the drive wasnt bought new and so i havent tested if its a faulty drive the dock is working because my 2tb drive is seen and working as expected. the drive doesnt need to be bootable and will only be used as a backup drive
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,780
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Garry,

    In Windows open an Admin Command Prompt and type...

    diskpart

    Press Enter, and Enter after each of these lines

    list disk

    If you only have one internal HD the USB HD should be Disk 1. If have two internal HDs the USB HD should be Disk 2. Do you have a Gpt column? Which disks have a *

    Let's say your USB disk is Disk 3 then type this...

    select disk 3

    list par

    What is the full readout of "list par"?

    Which OS are you using?
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2018
  7. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    404
    after trying again, all drives are working and usable it turned out to be a faulty data cable. thanks for all the help and advice but i didnt need to resort to DOS commands (without needing to open as admin) or bootable cds for reference i was using windows 10 x64 with all the current updates working
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,678
    gpt mandatory!
    how old is your computer? limitations also for BIOS and chipset.
    it makes no sense to insert such devices in ancient computers.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.