How to activate acronis startup recovery manager from bootable CD?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jetsun, Jun 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jetsun

    jetsun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    When I used the bootable cd created by Bootable Rescue Media Builder, it said following messages."The hard disk you have selected is not available when booting your pc and you will be able to restore images from Acronis Secure Zone located on this drive only from Windows".
    I know I can activate it from windows. I want to know why I can't activate it from the bootable CD.
     
  2. jetsun

    jetsun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    bootable Cd
     

    Attached Files:

  3. jetsun

    jetsun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    bootable floppy,6 disks
     

    Attached Files:

  4. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, jetsun

    Welcome to Wilders and Acronis.

    Where is the Image you made?

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  5. jetsun

    jetsun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    The bootable CD created by MediaBuilder.exe does not exist this problem. I made a multiboot cd by using the files on the BootableCD and encountered the problem mentioned above. I used isolinux to make the multiboot CD.

    isolinux.cfg
    kernel kernel.dat
    append rw vga=788 acpi=off initrd=ramdisk.dat /S ramdisk_size=65536 quiet

    The multiboot CD can boot and run into acronis true image server GUI, it seems that the function "activate acronis startup recovery management" does not work properly.
     
  6. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Where did you save the image file? Is it on the C: drive or a different partition?
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, jetsun

    I am still not sure of your problem.

    Do you have a CD-BootDisk made by Acronis Ti7.

    Secure Zone is NOT Bootable, it is a hidden Partition.

    The Ti BootDisk will see it.

    Please can you explain your problem in more detail.

    I do not mean to be rude but if you have cobbled a BootDisk
    together it might never work.

    Waiting for your reply.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  8. jetsun

    jetsun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    What does the "image file" mean? The image file of hardisk/partion?
    I have not created the image file of the harddisk yet and installed acronis under the windows system either. What I did was using a bootable cd of true image server to boot the computer and try to install the startup recovery management. I found that the bootable cd made by MediaBuilder.exe can work, and the multiboot cd make by myself by using isolinux and files from true image bootable cd (kernel.dat and ramdisk.dat) does not work. I have copy the folder "Recovery Manager" to the root of multiboot cd too.
     
  9. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, jetsun

    If you make a Ti Botdisk there is about 8mg visable files used,
    and 8mg hidden file.

    The hidden files are not on YOUR BootDisk.

    To make a BootDisk you must first install Ti7. [16mg]

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  10. jetsun

    jetsun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    I have installed TI7 and use the mediabuilder.exe in it made the bootable Cd. I know there are unvisable file on the CD, for the size of the CD is much bigger than the total size of the folder/files on the CD. Maybe my bootcd does not work because of short of the hidden files on the original bootable cd made by mediabuilder.
     
  11. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, jetsun

    Yes that is what I am saying you are missing files on your [cobbled] BootDisk.

    So where is your Problem?

    What can you not do?

    Take Care,
    ThwQuest :cool:
     
  12. jetsun

    jetsun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    After reading some articles from other forums, I made the multiboot CD that can integrate ture image. CD Shell+ Bootable CD Wizard + WinISO
     
  13. Cha?

    Cha? Guest

    The Secure zone is created from files located in directory "Recovery Manager" or "F11" (depending on your locale) at the Acronis TI BootCD root :
    /cdrom/Recovery Manager/bootmenu.exe -> Launch TI or boot Windows
    /cdrom/Recovery Manager/bootwiz.sys -> "F11 key" bootloader, you can set "acpi=off quiet" parameter here for load freeze problems
    /cdrom/Recovery Manager/f11.cfg -> Kernel load parameters
    /cdrom/Recovery Manager/kernel.dat -> 2.6 linux kernel (inc drivers)
    /cdrom/Recovery Manager/mouse.com -> mouse driver for bootmenu.exe
    /cdrom/Recovery Manager/ramdisk.dat -> mini-linux loaded in ram and containing acronis apps ie: TI

    Be sure to have this files on your remastered CD. As you can see, Acronis CDs are linux-based, but be aware that cdrom mounting may behave weird when remastering a isolinux.bin based CD.
     
  14. jetsun

    jetsun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    I know that directory /Recovery Manager/ is needed on the root of the CD. bcdw can load a wbt file created by winiso from a bootable CD.

    bcdw /boot/acronis/ati/ati.wbt
     
  15. mecalvint

    mecalvint Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Jetsun,
    how were you able to create the wbt file.

    I've used the floppies creation method. That took sometimes.

    Do you know if we can do from an iso of the TI bootcd ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.