how long to clone 40gb drive with 8gb data?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by thebigdintx, Apr 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    about how long should it take to clone a 40gb drive with 8gb data over usb2 to my external drive? (system info: intel pentium 4 at 3ghz...512mb ram)
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2006
  2. JerrytheSurfer

    JerrytheSurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I just did that operation and it took 0:30 (30 minutes).
     
  3. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    I image my C (active partition) with only about 4.3GB on my 120GB disk in about 3 minutes to a USB external HD, so I would think it would take me about 6 minutes to do 8GB. I'm not counting the verification of the backup, just the image. All my settings, compression and resourses are set to 'normal'.

    I just edited my times to slightly less, as I just now ran an image of 4.25GB to my USB HD in a little less than 3 minutes (2 min & 50 seconds) using 'normal' settings with no 'validation' of the image. (I'm doing that now...I never use the computer in Windows while it's creating an image, but do use it when it's verifing one.

    If your backup images have a lot of compressed files in the data and you are using compression, it will take longer to image than if you use no compression, so you might take that in consideration.

    ...Allen
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2006
  4. dosdoxies

    dosdoxies Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    I find that my images average a little more than 1 GB per minute to my USB 2.0 external HD. I also don't use the computer when making an image.
     
  5. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    I cloned a 20 gig drive with about 6 gigs of used space to a new 40 gig drive and it took less than 5 minutes. Everything went without a hitch. I also did a clone of a 40 gig drive with about 11 gigs of used space to a new 80 gig drive and that took about the same.... 5 minutes +/-. Gotta love it. :cool:

    What was a bit disconcerting is that the progress bar never showed any progress during the entire operation on either machine. But after about 5 minutes the "Completed" dialog appeared and that was it.
     
  6. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    thank you all....and just to clarify, i was asking about cloning, not imaging. i've already done a back up image, and it took about 6 minutes.
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Colvin,

    Are you talking about the "Clone Disk" or the "Create Backup" procedure? If the former, and you used the bootable rescue CD, then what TI 9 build number are you using? It's supposedly been fixed in Build 3567.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.