How long to back up 90 gigs

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dosdoxies, Nov 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dosdoxies

dosdoxies Registered Member

I am new to TI 9. I have only one question. I made a full backup image of my main drive (OS, programs, data, etc) to my USB external 200 g drive. Total time for backup and verify was about 2 hours, 10 mins. Does this sound right? I have compression set to none and priority set to normal. I am not using the computer when backup is in progress. Thanks.

2. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello dosdoxies,

Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

Please note that Acronis performance depends on the combination of the following factors: hard disk drive speed, backup media speed, backup compression level selected and CPU speed. The fastest and most safe media are hard disk drives or network storage. However, you should consider that hard disk drives and other external devises connected to computer via USB are limited by the USB transfer rate, which is generally slow.

Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova

3. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

I don't use a USB drive so I can't comment on your numbers.

If you are being throttled by USB transfer rates you may improve your transfer times by using some degree of compression particularly if you have a relatively fast processor because there is less data to transfer via the USB link.

4. dld

dld Registered Member

I've found that backing up to a slave drive will take roughly 1 minute per gigabyte of data using normal compression. Verifying this backup takes 2/3 the time. Also I've found that backing up to a USB2 external drive takes over twice as much time as backing up to an internal drive. This using TI8.

Last edited: Nov 3, 2005
  5. tazdevl

tazdevl Registered Member