How is Prevx?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by cheater87, Aug 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I want to try it but i heard it was hard to use. Is it hard if it is there is a so called "ABC" mode. What does this do?
     
  2. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Prevx is very simple to use the currnet version is much lighter in use than previous versions. I quite like it.


    You will need a broadband internet connection to getv the best out of it
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    its a very easy to use HIPS. just install and reboot. on bootup it will perform a background scan.

    in ABC mode (default), it allows good files, prompts for files that it hasnt seen often, and it will block bad files.
     
  4. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    On every reboot it will perform a startup scan FYI.

    It's a very easy to use HIPS, the only problem I've ever had with it was the lack of configurability, and its resource usage. Though the resources have been toned down significantly, as far as memory and CPU usage goes.

    As for ABC mode it will operate according to the community database rules.
    Pro, will prompt you a little bit more if you run a new program that the community has not seen.
    Expert will prompt you for every thing that you could possibly imagine like TCP outbound, DNS outbound, accessing Windows API's, etc.
     
  5. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    so is ABC mode good for people who don't want a lot of yes or noes?
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    yes very good.

    its not complete, but as long as u dont run extremely new and rare programs, it should be ok.

    also beware of false positives. ive had a few but i was able to contact support and get them fixed.
     
  7. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    WSFuser
    You mean like a rootkit or something like that ?
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    no. i simply mean that some new or rare program may trigger a pop-up. i cannot think of a specific example, but prompts still exist albeit very very rare.
     
  9. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Oh so does that mean you wouldn't get alerted to something like a rootkit ?
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i dont know how well it does with rootkits. but i assume it treats them like a program: good is allowed, unknown is prompt, and bad is blocked.
     
  11. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Prevx1 has an extensive whitelist and blacklist. In ABC or Pro mode, you will only be prompted to allow or deny programs that are Unknown, which are programs that have not yet been determined Good or Bad by the analysts. The database is quite large, so you will not see many of these; many people never see a prompt. If you were the unlucky first person to encounter a new rootkit, you would still be prompted to allow or deny it. Once it's determined bad by the analysts, it would then be caught and killed if you had allowed it to run.

    HTH
     
  12. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Thanx you for the replies. So it sounds as if prevx will prevent all unknown malware like rootkits and other things, even if it isn't aware of them ?

    How prone is prevx to false positives ?
     
  13. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    its hard to say, but so far ive only had 3 false postives all of which have been fixed.
     
  14. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    I've had one that was supposedly fixed, an issue with "utorrent" being a worm. Support was pretty friendly about it and said something would be rolled out, but 3 days after Prevx was still getting rid of my utorrent claiming it was a nasty.

    I can't say now because I have uninstalled Prevx1 because of another issue of disconnections and the inability to dl another verision of their R off their website.

    About the preventing... I can't say for certain because I have only tried to remove malware once with Prevx1, and the popups after booting up made my head spin.
     
  15. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    ok i'll give this program a spin
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2006
  16. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Ok i downloaded Prevx

    im going to give this a spin
     
  17. A1SteakSauce

    A1SteakSauce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    88
    Re: Ok i downloaded Prevx

    Good Luck.
     
  18. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    i installed it and its going great nothng found yet another layer of security for my comp ^_^
     
  19. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    prevx has some trouble updating it self. Sometimes it updates and other times it has a message with an errer message pop up. then i try again and it installs it.
     
  20. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Are there any conflicts between Prevx and Snoopfree or UnHackMe that you know of?

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  21. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Feel free to drop a note to support with any issues that you have, or drop by our forums at Castle Cops

    UnHackMe should be fine, but haven't tested with SnoopFree. There will be some overlap, so I wouldn't exclude the possibility. Some/many have found problems with SnoopFree in general, so you might want to be careful.
     
  22. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks for the reply. I have used SnoopFree for a long time, and have had not issues so far.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  23. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    If you give it a try, let us know :)
     
  24. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi,folks: I just noticed that there is a d/l link at download.com for Prevx 1 1, is this something new to Prevx 1? or is it a revised version? Any major difference? How good is it in terms of quality? Thanks.
     
  25. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.