How is my security setup? im new to this :)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by SRJL, Jun 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SRJL

    SRJL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    England
    Hey guys,

    Been reading around recently and have decided upon this security setup. Please feel free to let me know your thoughts, and any areas where you feel I can improve.



    OS - Windows 7 home premium 64bit SP1 with all microsoft updates installed.


    Antivirus - Avast Free (Settings on max/ autosandbox off - due to comodos sandbox)

    Firewall - Comodo firewall with defence plus

    On demand scanners - Malwarebytes anti malware, hitman pro

    Other - Sandboxie (always browse with this)
    EMET



    All the best

    SRJL
     
  2. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Add a backup option and u r good to go
     
  3. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Very similar to my setup. Avast is an excellent choice. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i think you should be ok if you add HitmanPro Scaner it will be even better
     
  5. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    AS The_ChamP said - add something to create system backup and you're all set up.
     
  6. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.
  7. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Avast is solid, but if you are going to use Comodo and it's HIPS, then just use the Comodo AV. Better synergies there than added an extra program you don't need.
     
  8. Chiron

    Chiron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    If you decide to stay with Avast also make sure you turn off the Web shield. There is currently an incompatibility between the two such that if you leave it enabled, with Comdo's firewall, some programs will be able to bypass the firewall and access the internet without being blocked.

    Thus, if you decide not to go with the full CIS suite I would advise that you disable the Avast Sandbox and also disable Avast's web shield.
     
  9. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I hope Avast's web shield would be compatible soon. Its great. :)
     
  10. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408

    Lets see, you have a Firewall/HIPS + AV + Sandbox + on demand scanners........
    the only thing I see lacking is some sort of system imaging, just in case.
     
  11. Yanick

    Yanick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    269
    Yep. Maybe windows own imaging or something like Keriver 1-Click Restore Free?
     
  12. Melf

    Melf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Posts:
    105
    Also consider:

    1) A password manager/generator eg LastPass. No good having all that security on your end when a breach on the server's end will compromise you.

    2) Some DNS service
     
  13. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Avast has Avastly superior detection over Commodo Av.;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2012
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.