How is Eset Smart Security 4 Firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Durad, Jun 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    How is Eset Smart Security 4 Firewall? Did anybody tested?

    How secure is Automatic filtering mode?
     
  2. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    I'm sure if you searched the Eset forums you'd find the answer!
     
  3. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I tested it, in the sense that I am trialling it.

    In interactive mode. It has a few quirks, I suppose interactive mode requires some computer/internet/security knowledge.

    About automatic filtering mode: by default, it allows full outbound access !! o_O
    A very bad idea, especially since that is the default setting. (I'm not sure if some outbound filtering takes place on the basis of blacklisted software).

    Eset Smart Security= NOD32 plus firewall and spam filter.
    Given the fact that Windows offers free inbound filtering, you'd pay a lot for the spam filter if you use that firewal setting !
     
  4. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    I never used ESS's firewall.In the past,I used PCTools firewall with EAST AntiVirus.
     
  5. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    You're forgetting the ESET firewall has a lot more advanced protection especially for ARP. Automatic mode doesn't mean allow everything.
     
  6. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    I was under the impression that Windows Firewall provides good real-time protection. Is this extra protection necessary?
     
  7. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    Windows XP's firewall?I think it is bad.It seems that it only can set the IMCP's setting.When a packet is outbound or inbound,windows firewall will not have pop-up or block it.
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    On Vista it is good (both inbound and outbound) just a chore to setup.
     
  9. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I believe Stem has tested the Windows firewall extensively, and was positive about it. ('search')

    I'm not a techie, for as far as I know ARP (filtering) is not necessary for most people.
     
  10. Jack Sparrow

    Jack Sparrow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    I have NOD32 replace for 1 reasen.
    Look to the Matousec testing results.

    And now i have running OA ++ (This are including a2 AV).
    Version 3.5.0.27 running fine here,and i think that OA ++ better are than NOD32 Ess 4
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.