How is Eset Smart Security 4 Firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Durad, Jun 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    592
    Location:
    Canada
    How is Eset Smart Security 4 Firewall? Did anybody tested?

    How secure is Automatic filtering mode?
     
  2. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    I'm sure if you searched the Eset forums you'd find the answer!
     
  3. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,166
    I tested it, in the sense that I am trialling it.

    In interactive mode. It has a few quirks, I suppose interactive mode requires some computer/internet/security knowledge.

    About automatic filtering mode: by default, it allows full outbound access !! o_O
    A very bad idea, especially since that is the default setting. (I'm not sure if some outbound filtering takes place on the basis of blacklisted software).

    Eset Smart Security= NOD32 plus firewall and spam filter.
    Given the fact that Windows offers free inbound filtering, you'd pay a lot for the spam filter if you use that firewal setting !
     
  4. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    I never used ESS's firewall.In the past,I used PCTools firewall with EAST AntiVirus.
     
  5. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,034
    You're forgetting the ESET firewall has a lot more advanced protection especially for ARP. Automatic mode doesn't mean allow everything.
     
  6. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    I was under the impression that Windows Firewall provides good real-time protection. Is this extra protection necessary?
     
  7. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    Windows XP's firewall?I think it is bad.It seems that it only can set the IMCP's setting.When a packet is outbound or inbound,windows firewall will not have pop-up or block it.
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    On Vista it is good (both inbound and outbound) just a chore to setup.
     
  9. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,166
    I believe Stem has tested the Windows firewall extensively, and was positive about it. ('search')

    I'm not a techie, for as far as I know ARP (filtering) is not necessary for most people.
     
  10. Jack Sparrow

    Jack Sparrow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    I have NOD32 replace for 1 reasen.
    Look to the Matousec testing results.

    And now i have running OA ++ (This are including a2 AV).
    Version 3.5.0.27 running fine here,and i think that OA ++ better are than NOD32 Ess 4
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.