How effective is ZoneAlarm Free Antivirus with Firewall 2013?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rpk2006, Feb 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I'm using ZoneAlarm FW with Avast free for about a month now without any issues or slowdowns.4 GB RAM here too.And btw,the FW is using about 35-40 megs of RAM,unlike the whole suite which from my personal experience is using 200+ of RAM,but without any slowdowns at all.
     
  2. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Any nagware with zonealarm free.?
     
  3. ght1

    ght1 Guest

    No nagware at all. :)
     
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    USA
    I've been using just the free firewall and it doesn't have any noticeable impact on performance. I haven't tried adding in the AV yet.
     
  5. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    773
    Its not to bad at all. The thing I don't like is that they force you to change your start page and default search engine in order to install it.
     
  6. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    No, you can skip it at install :)
     
  7. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    No you can't.If you don't check those boxes,the NEXT button is grayed out and the installation cannot continue.
    Changed them back after the installation,no harm done.
     
  8. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
  9. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    That "skip all offers" feature wasn't active some months ago as far as i remember.Just tried it now to install and yes,you can opt out by clicking on that feature.
     
  10. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Good to hear :thumb:
     
  11. ght1

    ght1 Guest

    Have you already tried the AV? :)
     
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    AV feels sluggish. It's Kaspersky. Can't deny it has good detection though. But i don't like it because of the awful thirsty firewall...
     
  13. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,092
    My ZAESS is expiring now and i can't afford to buy a new license . I might be switching to the free version as i really liked it a lot while i had it . to me the really tough part is the price . It is too much . While the free version is perfectly fine even with the once-per-day update.I can manually do it and it does not hurt to do so. As far as heavy i really do not find it so heavy ( or heavier than KIS or TREND McAffe or anything like that.)
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
  14. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Been having weird experiences with ZA Free: couldn't do a context-menu scan while the program is updating (it appears grayed out, on-demand scan from the program gui works though), nor while another on-demand scan is already running :(

    Apart from those problems everything about it seems to good to be free IMO :)
     
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    USA
    Perhaps Fax will weigh in on this, but it seems to me that temporarily disabling scanning during updating is appropriate behavior and not weird. Also, why would you expect to be able to initiate a second scan while one is already running?
     
  16. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, normal and by design :)
     
  17. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Like, when I boot into Windows ZA will try to update (normal behavior), if I plug in a flash drive during that moment, I'll have to wait for the update to finish before being able to scan it with ZA. It might took much longer if my computer didn't connect to the Internet at that time, since canceling the updater will take a while.
    If ZA is scanning a flash drive when I plug a second one in, I'll have to wait for the first scan to finish (which will take quite long if the drive is too large / contains lots of archives) to scan it. Being able to do as many contextual scans as you wish should be the normal behavior here IMO.
     
  18. ght1

    ght1 Guest

    I second that, multitasking should be no problem in 2013. :D
     
  19. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Like you I prefer vendors who participate in the AV Comparatives tests.

    ZA is not the only one not participating, Symantic (Norton) also does not participate. AV Comparatives will not test a product if the vendor tries to control the results by cherry picking which tests they will take.
     
  20. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,281
    Well I tried it on a win 7 ultimate 64bit and its browser protection or download protection only worked with IE and my palemoon was un-protected. Anyway I tried downloading a file in IE10 and the zonealarm download manager quickly flashed and then was gone? no scanning message or I guess it did not work? maybe because it is 64bit. I uninstalled it.

    A lot of security products do not go beyond IE, Firefox, Chrome and Opera protection. They do not provide protection for other browsers.

    The only one I find that has almost all browsers or a-lot of them was kingsoft antivirus 5.6 and that program is dead now.
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Regardless the browser used, the AV engine (this is valid for any product)will always protect you "on access". With ZAfree+AV you also have the protection of the HIPS module.

    BTW, there is always a message if something is blocked and ZA is perfectly compatible with 64bit. Two scenarios: probably the download in IE10 got interrupted or it simply completed successfully then the ZA dialog box closes automatically without warnings (check the default download location - i.e. download folder). :)
     
  22. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,922
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I am running MBAM Pro and Zonealarm Antivirus +Firewall on Win. 7x64 home premium Sp1 with no problems at all.
     
  23. ejames82

    ejames82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    156
    I'm glad I stopped by here and checked out this thread. I am definitely going to check out this av and firewall. I have had real good luck with kaspersky in the past.
     
  24. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,970
    Just installed this recently and it seems very light compared to many of the others.. So far, pretty good. I don't know that I need the firewall much, but it's a nice way to get a good AV for free.. :)
     
  25. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    Seems like mostly positive feedback in this thread...

    PCMag gave it 3/5 in February and on majorgeeks.com it's averaging 2/5 with 99 votes in at the time of writing, although some of that may be due to a negative reaction to the ads and extras (homepage/search engine changes).

    I wasn't even going to try this suite, but I dunno. Guess I could install it in a VM and see what happens. I've been testing various AV/FW combinations recently because I need to change away from Comodo Insternet Security 5. I like ZA firewall a lot and it's also received exellent reviews everywhere. It also runs very light with MSE on a virtual machine.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.