How do you set your HIPS ?

Discussion in 'polls' started by blacknight, May 16, 2010.

?

How do you set your HIPS ?

  1. At the highest and restricted level

    8 vote(s)
    30.8%
  2. Safe or " medium " level

    4 vote(s)
    15.4%
  3. Training mode

    5 vote(s)
    19.2%
  4. Default settings ( no change )

    9 vote(s)
    34.6%
  1. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Using an HIPS is not really safe if you don't take care of his configuration. Many people, sometimes also here in Wilders, find tedious and annoying all the HIPS pop ups and alerts, but they are one of the " cores " of the HIPS's protection of the system.

    How do you set your HIPS ?
     
  2. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    " At the highest and restricted level " = Paranoid. :D :D
     
  3. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
    Training mode for a day or two then Safe Mode. I'm not paranoid. :D
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Same as previous post.
    Training for 1 or 2 days then HIGHEST, but NOT restricted :D
     
  5. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    No need for paranoia , training mode until I run all software that I use every day , then leave it to Safe mode :)
     
  6. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Well you don't get annoyed with popups?

    I prefer same as most wilder members choosed, training for a day or two and then create some own set of rules so that popups can be minimized minus the protection;) Actually I am talking about Malware Defender in general so I would like to hear about other HIPS:p
     
  7. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I use Process Guard so I just put it in training mode and run the apps that I run normally plus a couple reboots to make sure what starts automatically gets added and then lock it down. Rare for it to pop up so if it does I know something isn't quite right.
     
  8. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Nice poll. Highest restricted level for me. I prefer to spend some time answering pop ups in the beginning and have my system tailored to my needs. In very rare cases I enable the learning mode. Some times during "safe" installations, I disable the protection, more often than learning mode but not so often though.
     
  9. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe

    Popups annoy me too: I'm paranoid, but normal. :D :D . But the work of an HIPS is to give the complete control of my system, so I want to keep always this control. So I used running SSM, so I use now.
     
Loading...