How do you REMOVE apps from the HTTP compatibility set-up list?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by spy1, Apr 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    If I click on "IMON" in the NOD32 "Control Center" , then "Setup" and then on the "HTTP" tab, then "Setup" in the "Compatibility setup" section, I'm presented with a list of all apps in there and their "Compatibility" settings (either "Higher Efficiency" or "Higher Compatibility" ).

    A lot of the apps listed there are no longer on board this computer, so how do I go about removing their entries from that list? Pete
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    It can't be done at this point.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Gotta love that.

    Not even via the registry or perhaps some file in the NOD32 folder that holds the information? Pete
     
  4. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    the list is in the registry under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Eset\Nod\CurrentVersion\Modules\Imon\Settings
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Thanks Namor, I knew there was a discussion on this many moons ago, but couldn't remember the outcome regarding a registry hack.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Thank you, NAMOR. Thorough inspection of that registry key isn't showing me anything that will enable me to remove individual entries in that list, though.

    What am I missing? Pete
     
  7. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
  8. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    NAMOR - Thanks again - found it. I'll let you know how it goes

    The way it reads out - single line that you have to scroll through - makes it kinda tricky to deal with. Pete
     
  9. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    I have been wondering how/if this could be done for a while now, I have a few old apps that I would like to remove. Let us know how it goes Spy.
     
  10. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Matt - I'll be more than happy to - assuming I ever get it done. It's a long process and one mistake is probably going to cause results that aren't pretty. Had to take a break from it just now.

    That list is huge. Pete
     
  11. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    There really should be a interface to do this, instead of trying to edit a long registry value :(
     
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825

    I agree.
     
  13. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    One more thing... I think you have to reboot so that the changes will take effect.
     
  14. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Okay. I've got to leave shortly anyway. (Still not done). Pete
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    LOL, my PM to you was a lot quicker ;) :D

    :D :D :D
     
  16. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Well, that's about enough of THAT! <g> Fired the computer up this morning and wound up having to re-install FireFox - it was gone!

    Not faulting Eset or anyone else for this - I probably just removed one thing too many.

    It would be nice if they'd make that list a little easier to deal with! Pete
     
  17. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi spy1:

    How about some clarification for the masses. ;) When you note that FireFox was gone, did you mean the IMON entry or the program? Once FireFox is started back up, IMON adds it back to the list.

     
  18. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    I mean the program was gone. No "Start/Programs" listing, no desktop icon, no exe in the folder. I re-installed o.t.t of what was left in and got it back in business. Pete
     
  19. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Regarding the removal of the UserAgentList value: I've found that I need to reboot essentially immediately after deleting it, or the removal may not "take". My assumption is that NOD32 holds the value in memory, and rewrites it whenever IMON is used.

    I actually delete the UserAgentList value on each shutdown, automatically, using a REG file and a command script that runs on logoff and shutdown. :)
     
  20. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    My list for 'Higher Efficiency' etc was short when I first installed NOD but now there are quite a few things listed & I presume more could be added through time o_O I am still very much learning about NOD and I know others who have posted about this know a lot more than me about the setup :oops:

    Do I just leave everything there and let the list be added to or is it best to clean the list? I do not want to upset NOD or any of the items listed just worried that my list is now a lot longer than it was o_O I do like to have things nice and tidy but without risking any of my security.
     
  21. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Leave well enough alone I would say ;) :D

    Cheers :D
     
  22. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    That's enough for me ;) no cleaning lists in NOD :) thanks.
     
  23. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hello Roybn, I assumed it was Eset who cleared mine through update or some other means, did your's not clear yesterday?
    I hope you don't mind me asking.
     
  24. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    Don't mind you asking at all - it was only when I checked this morning (I check to make sure everything is at HE) that I found a few red ones and saw the length of this list. I am not using my NOD computer just now but when I use it later I will check my list again in case a re-boot will have cleaned but there was definitely a list there first thing o_O
     
  25. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Ireland
    Thanks Robyn, I hope it clears for you. ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.