how do you disable areo?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by iceni60, Jun 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    you'd think they'd make vista useable. but, instead if you search for areo a few things hang and crash then when something decides to work and you click on every option in the control center you notice, when you search for something, vista will take that feature away so you won't ever find it.

    there's a picture of the none areo theme in the theme settings, but when i select it it doesn't use that theme, it uses areo instead :rolleyes: what's wrong with this stupid os? i stopped using it after 3 days, but there's one program i want to use that's windows based.

    how can i use the theme in the picture?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,049
    I suppose it wouldn't be helpful to suggest uninstalling Vista and installing XP Pro. Iceni60, I wish I remember how I got it turned on when I was playing with Vista, but I don't keep it on my system as I can't function with Vista. I'll bet someone will come along who is infinitely more helpful. Hang in there.

    Pete
     
  3. EASTER.2010

    EASTER.2010 Guest

    I have that in XP Pro and in fact dang near every visual enhancement as Vista WITHOUT the nonsense that O/S is giving everyone.

    I suggest also to Uninstall it completely for XP and then if you really want to enjoy Vista there is a treasure chest of apps and add ons that don't tax resources one iota. I should know, i'm one of the biggest fanatics of Windows customizations going back to Windows 98 when i already had Flip 3-D as in a freeware app named Mandotate which is still floating the airwaves.

    Oh, by the way, i use absolutely NO transformation packs either and i don't have to hack the system files. I just use VistaMizer and whatever else appeals to me. :D

    Don't be a $M victim, be a wise computer advocate for stability!
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    well actually I am running Vista Home Premium and I have never had a problem choosing themes or screen savers or Wallpaper. Everything is working very well.
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  6. eniqmah

    eniqmah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    I really wonder if Joe schmo ever really thought about this type of thing before deciding that Vista is the only way to have a non-dull-and-boring desktop.
     
  7. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    thanks for the help. i'm not using vista now, but i think it wasn't working because of some laptop power management software i installed :D

    i would use xp too if i was only using MS OSes, but all my computers run linux and i just want to learn a bit about vista.
     
  8. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,

    Truth to be told, there's very little to learn. The difference between XP and Vista is mainly:

    1. Vista takes twice as long to get infected because you have to click everything twice to make it happen - call this UAC or something.
    2. You get a sensational 50% decrease in performance.

    Now that you have it, go back to the wonderful world of NIX.

    Mrk
     
  9. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Another thing is if you follow Black Vipers Vista services guide and disable the Tablet PC Input Service then the Snipping Tool will not work.

    Have turned off Defender and UAC here.

    Still playing with Vista Ultimate here and it is doing my head in a bit navigating around.

    This new core two duo 2 gig ddr 2 throws Vista around a piece of cake.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.