How do I start up?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Huib, Jul 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Huib

Huib Registered Member

First I am a newbie with backups. A few months ago I made with a trial version of Arconis an image of mine C raptor disk to an exact same raptor disk D.
    Now the C disk is not starting up anymore. Even PC Angel can't restore XP. Can I start up Xp and the programs from the D disk? I can’t find anything in the manual about this.

2. MerlinAZ

MerlinAZ Registered Member

Did you create a recovery boot disk?
    If you replace your C: drive, boot with the recovery disk, you can restore your image from the D: drive back to C:.
    You will lose everything on the C: drive since it was imaged.
    Are you sure your C: is totally dead?

3. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator

Hello Huib,

Please clarify whether you used TI's "Clone Disk" feature to copy your C: drive to your D: drive or its "Backup" feature to create an image file of the C: drive on the D: drive.

Regards

4. Huib

Huib Registered Member

I am very happy to say that the C-drive is working again. XP is installed. I can see XP and all the other programs on the D-drive. THis was a clone. How do I get these data back to C-drive?
    Can I copy the files on the D-drive and overwrite drive-C ? Or can I make from D --> C and from C-->D ?

Last edited: Jul 13, 2006
  5. mark3

mark3 Registered Member

Are both disks connected at the same time when you boot? If that is the case then you should disconnect one of them. The reason is that you are trying to start two copies of Windows at the same time.

Disconnect D and see if Windows boots on C. If it does not then disconnect C and boot on D and see what happens.

Post your result so that someone can give you further advice.

6. supermario

supermario Registered Member

question

hi