How do I save Tor about:config Settings? + Transfer to New Version?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by egresor, Sep 29, 2014.

  1. egresor

    egresor Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    hi

    i've been looking into tor and recently they upgraded.

    i wasn't sure and did a new folder and left the old one still on computer just in case.

    i'd like to move the older version config to the new version....bookmarks too.

    how do i accomplish that? what files located where moved to what folder in new one, etc.

    i saw the places file and know that is where bookmarks are placed.

    thanks for info. a did a small search and not exactly what i wanted...so maybe someone here can tell me?

    thanks
     
  2. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,032
    Bookmarks you can transfer using the "Import and Backup" wizard. For preferences generally, see https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/977733 . I gather that you can just copy the prefs.js file from the old profile folder to the new one. But neither browser should be running when you do that. Also, there's the risk that a newer version of the browser may expect settings not present in the old prefs.js file, with unpredictable results. Keeping a manual list of your customizations, and manually customizing the new browser, is the safest approach.
     
  3. egresor

    egresor Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    keeping a manual list sounds like it, but guess not for this one. suppose i'll need to redo config.

    thanks
     
  4. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,599
    Agreed on manual settings.

    I actually like to keep a separate TBB on my VM desktop for each "important" site and that is the only place I go to within that one TBB. e.g. - My Wilders TBB (currently on it) only has "activity" from being here. Once I get ready to leave Wildnoers I close it and move to the next TBB.

    By keeping one virgin/unopened TBB on the desktop I can start fresh in seconds and do quite often. Simply copy and paste a fresh TBB and start over. I do the same thing with the entire VM too, but a little less often than cleaning out the TBB's.

    Security can add inconvenience but to me its worth it. My .02
     
  5. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,032
    I like that :thumb:

    I wonder if that works in Whonix. I'll test and report.
     
  6. egresor

    egresor Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    that is sound logic

    thanks
     
  7. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,599
    I have found this method provides ample isolation for "Wilder's level" sites (referring to my personal risk concerns). In fact I have searched through the various TBB's on my VM desktop and don't see any cross-chatter. TBB does a pretty amazing job at keeping some "dirt" from its use out of the host VM as well. You know, its that classic trade-off between security and convenience. It would be better (strictly speaking) to have a unique VM for every single site I use frequently, and in those VM's I would have a TBB. However; I did that for awhile and keeping them all updated was a task. For my baseline; I never corrupt my linux host with any internet activity and my linux VM's host the TBB's. All that sits behind a couple of VPN's, which form the bridge keeping my ISP in the dark. Not too tough really once you get a handle on how to do it.

    I do start with fresh VM's every week but not every day like I used to.
     
  8. egresor

    egresor Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    with that much layering and such...i'd never have any time to use it.

    LOL

    i thought to VM it, but had not thought about using additionals for each site that's a clever tactic

    take care and thanks for the info

    :)
     
  9. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,032
    Cloning a VM takes just seconds to a few minutes max.
     
  10. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,599
    That is quite true. As long as you keep a template VM around you can whip them out as needed without ever exposing the VM template to "dirt".

    egresor,

    Its also amazingly simple to copy TBB's from a clean template. Just never use the template and stamp out as many "clones" as you need. Dirty them up, wipe them, and stamp out a new clean one from the template. Got it?

    The only time consumer for me is when TBB comes out with a new one (every few weeks usually). I download and create a new template then.
     
  11. egresor

    egresor Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    never looked into doing that and sounds pretty simple after learning how to VM and make templates etc etc
    :)

    appreciate the info and will probably investigate further...given what security concerns are in the modern world.

    thanks
     
  12. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,599
    I would recommend spending time reading over at the Whonix forums. I suggest reading about the benefits of isolation!! Whonix is a step further (and may not be needed for some) and you'll discover the advantage of isolating your internet activity in a Virtual Machine, far away from the host operating system. The VM's allow you to conceal your actual machine id #s and such since the ones in the VM are spoofed to the sites. Further if you smartly elect to employ TOR browser bundle (TBB)s from within the VM, you add another amazing layer of isolation. TBB has been designed to make you look EXACTLY like every other TOR user, which provides a great mask as long as you don't screw something up. And finally, you will have the benefit of your circuit nodes changing automatically about every 10 minutes.
     
Loading...