How do I run chkdsk in Windows Vista?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by dcdc, Nov 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dcdc

    dcdc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    Location:
    Boston area
    I tried to run chkdsk c: /f from the cmd command window on my relatively new Vista machine, but I get a message that it can only be run at an elevated level, apparently as an Administrator.

    First, it's my computer and I'm the only user, so should I set myself up as the Administrator, or are there good security reasons not to do so on a regular basis?

    Second, exactly how do I go about elevating my privileges in a foolproof manner?

    Any suggestions would be welcome, but please keep in mind that when it comes to even fairly simple system stuff, I admit I am a novice, as I don't do that sort of thing regularly. As such, instructions need to be quite explicit.

    Thanks.
     
  2. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Are you using the steps as outlined below?

    (from http://support.microsoft.com/kb/931699/)

    Blue
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I just set up a new Dell for my Son and you set yourself up as the Administrator when your setting up the computer. They ask you questions like (not exact wording)name of administrator......... Name of computer ........etc. Perhaps you can go to the control panel and access the folder where you add new accounts, and declare yourself administrator there.:)
     
  4. dcdc

    dcdc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    Location:
    Boston area
    No, I tried doing it the way I would in XP, namely Start > run > cmd > chkdsk. Once I got that far, it wasn't clear how to proceed.

    Your method worked fine. Thank you.

    Thanks also to twl845. I forget how I set up the Vista machine initially. Somehow I had the idea that I set myself up as the Administrator (I was one on the XP machine), but apparently I was not on Vista.

    It doesn't say all that much for Vista's security if you are able to right click and hit 'Run as Administrator', and then run some restricted application.
     
  5. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    You can also right click C drive - properties - Tools tab - Check Now and after ticking both choices you will be prompted to restart to run chkdsk.

    Or at least I am able to do that on this Vista U install without any priviledge prompts.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.