How do I get a cloned drive to boot?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Mr. Y, Aug 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr. Y

    Mr. Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    257
    Hello everyone,
    I cloned a 1TB Mint 13 drive PROPORTIONALLY larger onto a 3TB drive.

    Just wondering what I need to do to get the 3TB drive to boot?


    Thank You,
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Connect it?
    Mrk
     
  3. Mr. Y

    Mr. Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    257
    Hi Mrk,
    After cloning, the cloned drive would not boot. Could you please explain "Connect it?"


    Thank you!
     
  4. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    Technically, if there weren't errors/bugs in the program, it should boot. Is the new drive set as the primary boot drive in bios?
     
  5. Mr. Y

    Mr. Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    257
    Yes the new drive is set as the primary boot drive in bios but still does not boot.


    Thank you
     
  6. Setcho

    Setcho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    UK
  7. Mr. Y

    Mr. Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    257
    Ironically, I was burning the Boot-Repair-Disk while you were posting this.

    I ran the CD and PROBLEM SOLVED!


    Thank You!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.