How do I find which files Nod32 has "cleaned"?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by jayt, Nov 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    This is the first time I have experienced this problem. Tonight I ran an "on demand scan" with Nod32. I chose the option of "Scan and Clean", but the quarantine box was ticked (it is also ticked in Amon). After running a scan of all files, this is what came up
    Ok, I looked in the quarantine folder. There was nothing there. I looked in the threat folder. There was nothing there. I reviewed the scanner log. There was nothing there.
    How am I to find out what Nod32 cleaned? I trust Nod32, but I do like to have some control over what is being deleted.
    I know that I can run System Restore to time prior to this scan and rescan using the scan only option, but this seems like going to a lot of trouble. Am I misunderstanding how Nod32 works? I am using Nod32 v. 2.51.26 and have applied Blackspeare's setting.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Do you have a folder called infected? C:\Program Files\ESET\infected

    If not, please create one.

    Could you please post a copy of your scan log, as it should show what was deleted.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    There was no infected folder. (I understood it was only created when there was an infection). Anyway, pursuant to your instructions, I created one. How do I post as copy of my scan log?
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Did you/do you use a Registry Cleaner?


    To paste a log, do the following:

    1. Right click on a scan log

    2. Click on details

    3. Right click

    4. Click on "copy all"

    5. Then paste directly here.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    I sometimes use Tweaknow Reg Cleaner. When I try to copy the scan log, Nod32 Control Center locks up. Using Windows Task Manager shows "program not responding." I think it is perhaps because the scan log is so big?
    As I stated in my first post, I scrolled down thru the scan log (it took almost as long as the scan did in the first place). I could find not red entries, nothing noting a threat.
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I think you have ripped parts of NOD32 from the registry.

    It also sounds like you have "list all files" ticked within the manual scanner.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    I don't think Nod32 (parts of) have been ripped from the registry, but you are correct I do have list all files ticked with the manual scanner. Should they not be?
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have talked to a specialist and we would disagree with you on this point. I have seen registry cleaners cause sooooo much havoc that I no longer touch them, as well as several studies regarding their effectiveness and or damage (Fred Langa included) have come to the same conclusion as well.

    Not required, makes looking for a particular line almost impossible.

    Cheers :D
     
  9. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    Thanks for your help Blackspeare. I have uninstalled Nod32, deleted the folder Eset in Program Files, and re-installed Nod32. Hopefully, nothing bad was deleted (in the sense that it effects the computer). If if does I will do a system restore in a couple of days and re-run the scan this time leaving list all files unticked.
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Cheers :D
     
  11. Supersnake

    Supersnake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Posts:
    121

    I am running NOD32 version 2.70.9 beta and have neither a "quarantine" folder or "threat" folder or an "infected" folder in my computer. Am I supposed to have each of these named folders? If not, which ones should I have and should I create them and place them where?

    Thanks,
    Supersnake
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 10, 2006
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Answer can be found HERE

    Cheers :D
     
  13. Supersnake

    Supersnake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Posts:
    121
    Aha, it is done for me when the need arises.

    Thanks Blackspear,

    Supersnake
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.