How do I exclude specific processes from being scanned.

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Arkh, Mar 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arkh

    Arkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    10
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    you exclude the exe that own those processes?
     
  3. Arkh

    Arkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    What? See below. The KB article lists specific processes that should be excluded on an Exchange Server. Based on this list I have to assume there is a location for me to include these processes... however I have been unsuccessful in locating it.

     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try to find the process, in the task manager process list, and then exclude it? Right click on it to open its file location
     
  5. Arkh

    Arkh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Ahh, thanks Cudni.

    That's going to be time consuming, but it gets the job done.
     
  6. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Unfortunately this just excludes the specific .exe. Quite often a .exe will launch more .exe files, and they continue to get scanned. This caused us serious grief with Sage Line 50, as one .exe launches a new .exe very frequently. We had no choice but to exclude the entire Sage folder.

    Process-exclusion would be a welcome addition.



    Jim
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.