How do I configure setting for Defensewall in my environment?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Ohmy, Jul 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Hi,

    I just started using DW, and I'm really impressed with it.

    I never knew there was such useful piece of software.

    However, there are a lot of things that I have to sort out.

    Ilya, I need your help.

    As I said before on my other thread, ActiveX is inevitable when surfing in my country.

    So if DW blocks ActiveX, or run IE as untrusted application,

    then I can't do anything that I need.

    But I DW allows every ActiveX(which is the risk of getting malwares) then I won't be secured...

    So I'm quite in a dilemma... :( What should I do?

    I really want to keep on trying to use it.

    This is when I miss AV, when it just scans every single ActiveX...
    doing things by itself.

    Oh, and I don't really get the full idea on how DW works...

    So is there any learning thread I can read?

    Thanks :)
    Ohmy
     
  2. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Oh, I just found out that I can't install any software
    after installing DW.
    I did try "run as trusted" "add to secured" "add to defense excludes"
    but it is not working o_O
     
  3. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    DW allows ActiveX work and installation with no problem.

    It is secure because it is installs inside untrusted zone. Even if it will be loaded by the trusted process, "plugin injection protection" will turn it to untrusted automatically.

    Yes, there is a help file and this quick, a little outdate tutorial http://gladiator-antivirus.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=34858
     
  4. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Ilya,

    Thanks for your reply.

    I don't really know which process to terminate or

    which process to just click the "OK" button.

    :(
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 9, 2008
  5. Miyagi

    Miyagi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
  6. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    If you don't know- don't push. :D
     
  7. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Hehe, right.
    You know in defensewall, whats the difference between "run as trusted"
    and "run as trusted all", because I can't find the information in the Help file.

    Oh yea, and why does it run IE in untrusted mode even I run as trustedo_O
     
  8. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    With the next, 2.45 version, there will be only "run as trusted" function that is "run as trusted all" now functionality.
     
  9. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    ;) No comment :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.