How do I clean my quarantine folder?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by dragonslair, Oct 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dragonslair

    dragonslair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Hi Experts!
    I'm a newbie as far as anti virus and malware softwares are concerned.
    I recently bought ESET Smart Security aand it did it's first complete scan. To my shock/horror it found 3696 virus. 98% of them Ramnit.A. It sent them all into my quarantine folder. What I would like to now is how do I delete all these in one go. Tried to delete them one by one, but everytime I got shot of one the files loaded up again. I got fed up after deleting 20!
    Is there another way?
    Awaiting eagerly for your advice.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Quarantined files are not dangerous, but, if you want, you can select all and then, delete them.

    But I recommend you a re-format of your PC (in the same way that Cudni says)
     
  4. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hi dragonslair,

    The quarantined files themselves are usually stored in

    %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Application Data\ESET\%PRODUCTNAME%\Quarantine.

    If you wanted to you could delete them from there also.

    BFG
     
  5. dragonslair

    dragonslair Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the info guys. Will take your suggestions under advisement.
     
  6. rottenz

    rottenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    You can also delete them with the NOD32 in "Tool" -> Quarantine.

    If you try to run a program and the .exe get in Quarantine and if you are SURE it's not a virus or something bad, Right click on it, Delete And Restore From Quarantine And Do Not Scan Again.

    I hope it can help you too and i'm not " out Topic ? "
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.