How could I disinfect a PC using remote control tools?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Emil, May 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Emil

    Emil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Romania
    Hi guys!

    I'm right coming back ! :cool:

    I've some problems with a PC station at 300 Km from me.
    The computer is connected through dial-up.
    The virus (I think it's agobot) don't let user to stay on the net more than 2-10 minutes, because the computer is turned off.
    I didn't find a free tools, that to have little size, to be quickly downloaded
    Its were trying all resources: downloading trial version of NOD with a download manager, I've could instal a remote control server on that PC but I can't stay online more than the virus allow. Exist the posibility to scan the system piece by piece online, through the RC instrument? Other resources are not available.

    Any solution (except formatting)?


    Emil
     
  2. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Has the infected user tried the "shutdown -a" command to abort system shutdown (I think this command works with both Windows 2000 as well as Windows XP)?
     
  3. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    can you send a set of kav bootable recovery discs with up to date defs?
     
  4. thecrow

    thecrow Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    i tryed the NOD dos version once i had agobot but it coundt findt it all all
    in windows it could find agobot but it was too late cause agobot shut the scanning off after 10-20 secs

    so i ended up doing a reinstall but maybe theres a better way ?

    but it was because i didnt download the newest windows update right away i got it on my system

    that mistake i wont do twice.. ;)
     
  5. Emil

    Emil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Romania
    1. It's a good ideea but I don't know where from I could find those discs..Let me know please

    2. Maybe it's also better to try nod for dos but I don't know how could be updated (especially regarding also the post of thecrow). DOS version od nod I've not experienced yet. It could be useful for visuses as AGOBOT.

    So?

    Emil
     
  6. Emil

    Emil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Romania
    For the 2nd way I have to know if I have XP with NTFS (so noddos is not useful), it's enough to restart XP in safe mode? In that case it's possible to AGOBOT shuting down the scanner?

    Emil
     
  7. vinayms

    vinayms Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    You can try using symantec removal tool for Agaobot(gaobot). We also had problems with nod initially when gaobot was released. Nod took some time updating the signatures.

    vinu
     
  8. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    You might want to look at the thread I just started.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=31602

    You can download and run AVDisk (free and NOD32 is supported) and make bootable floppies with NOD32 definitions on them and AVDISK also supports NTFSDOS for NT based systems. Only bad thing (aside from the problems I am having running it) is that I just learned that the free NTFSDOS driver that comes with the download of NTFSDOS from systeminternals.com is the basic driver and that driver allows for read priviledges only so you can find the infection but you will not be able to disinfect. :( In order to disinfect, you will have to purchase a better driver from systeminternals.
     
  9. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    If you know anybody with kav installed on a pc there is an option to create them,they use linux so ntfs drives are scanned ok unlike dos(install a trial version on your pc,not demo!,and create some)
    Steve
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.