How can I test DefenseWall/GeSWall?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ambient_88, Jul 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Ok I got it now I see nothing in that box.I tried the web cam test and the web cam light up then I get a windows error.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    thats good getting alerted.even when i am chatting in some chat programs i get same alert.
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    you may get the windows error cause maybe there is not camara install
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I have web cam built in new laptop works otherwise fine.
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    i tried the new returnil premium beta and it has like anti-executable option and it alerted me for the webcam logger and the rest of the test passing all of them:D ofcourse with my help(apply denny)but at least alerted.:thumb:
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    very strange lets see what the other people says about it
     
  7. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,674
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2008
  8. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    lonewolf they both are good but my choice went to DefenseWall for the easy of use plus the exelent support:thumb: plus the software development is very alive:thumb:
     
  10. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,674
    I totally agree. :D
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    yep, tough choice. I love Geswall but cant knock Defensewall. I guess as long as you have a "Wall" any "Wall" then you are better off then having a AV.;)
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    Geswall is exelent also,very strong,so it also deserves a :thumb: :thumb:
     
  13. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    I would've probably chosen GeSWall Pro just because I tried it before DefenseWall and really liked it. But the price is a bit on the high side (pounds to USD).
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    in my case is diferent i choosed defensewall for the easy of use out of the box:thumb:
     
  15. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    Indeed, DefenseWall is really easy to use. So easy that even an average user would be able to use it. In any case, both are fine products and you can't go wrong with either. :thumb:
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    The orginator of this thread asked on how to test both, not buy.:doubt:

    So thats what we need to focus on.
     
  17. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    I'm the one who started this thread. But I agree that we're going off-topic. :cool:
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,739
    Location:
    Canada
    lol:D
     
  19. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I mentioned In post 7 how I tested because I have No malware Samples on hand.I had 8 attacks prevented,All scanners say clean. If something got past the scanners they do not know of it nor do I.
     
  20. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    you are correct. Aigle has posted here of extensive testing he has done and the folks I know have run it through the ringer and not one failure. Not one. Most have now installed it a 2 months after the fact and all are still amazed it keeps their systems clean. Choose what you want, it is your money, your computer and your security. But it is the first I have seen and used that comes pretty damn close to the one product that handles all. Perfect? No, but maybe soon it will be.;)
     
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I have 10 snapshots now with FD-ISR and each visits different locations of the world,;) and Geswall has never failed me yet. I would give up FD-ISR before Geswall. And that is straight out of the box settings to all you SB users,;)
     
  22. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I agree and as I said in another post I forgot about geswall.I looked at notes of what I try and noticed geswall was not tried yet by me. It was on the back burner but thats ok though I saved the best for last;)
     
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,160
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    With GW and DW u can still find some malware file chunks here n there but they will be harmless and isolated via sandbox policy. But it,s a very important point to keep in mind, if u use scanners to verify that how effective is GW or DW in practice.
     
  24. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Yep agree as I did in post 7 with 3 AV scanners 2 malware Scan To a big Nada.Zilch:thumb:
     
  25. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Man, I want to try either DW or GW,
    only if I stop getting the errors. :(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.