how can I stop this error-ad in IE

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by hadi, Jan 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hadi

    hadi Guest

  2. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
  3. hadi

    hadi Guest

  4. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    is Windows Messenger service on? another way to get those pop-ups..

    If so... go to grc.com and get ShootTheMessenger from there, it's a simple little 'standalone' [no install needed] proggy to kill it. Can be renabled if you are on network and need to 'send' messages to other pcs.

    http://grc.com/stm/shootthemessenger.htm



    TAS
     
  5. hadi

    hadi Guest

  6. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    hmmm bit unsure on that app there....

    does it actually kill the Windows Messenger Service and not just for MSN Messenger as per this quote from that link i gave.

    Just wanted to be sure, that's all, why not just dl that app to desktop, dbl click and it will ONLY tell you if it's Enabled/Disabled, nothing else until you decide.

    If it is, then I will shut up.. lol... :ouch:
     
  7. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    hi hadi...

    Obviously, if it is off for sure, then it's a type of pop-up which bypasses your pop-up blocker. do you have any other form of pop-up blocker besides IE's inbuilt?

    Several firewalls have them, maybe yours could be enabled there also if it does. Other than that service still running, and your pop-up failing to block then I suggest the next step could be the installation of a dedicated blocker, or do you use any other browser, Ff or Opera... the inbuilts in those are very good.

    TAS
     
  8. hadi

    hadi Guest

    to be exact the messenger is uninstalled completely from day 1 (using this method. don't no how effective)
    http://www.helpwithwindows.com/WindowsXP/tune-05.html

    It is not a popup as such. it load it self with the page. also, comes in firefox. both in IE and Firefox, it doesn't appear in all site nor always .
     
  9. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
    Hi Hadi
    to be exact the messenger is uninstalled completely from day 1 (using this method. don't no how effective

    To check istatus of Windows messenger
    Go into the control panel and select Administrative Tools
    select Services
    Scroll to Messenger and check if it is disabled in Start Up Type column
    You can double click Messenger to get the properties box where you can make changes if required.
     
  10. hadi

    hadi Guest

    Thanks. No messenger
    http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/8976/mes9vt.jpg
     
  11. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    ok, if you have done that with the service then it's finished. :)

    Now 'it comes in with page'... can it be closed without closing the page?

    If so, then in the first post, the pic, what's the address where you get that 'Warning Error' from... I'd like to check with Ff, Opera, IE and see what I get myself.

    Make sure you post full URL, do not abbreviate it like 'CLICK THIS'.

    ONLY POST URL IF IT'S A NORMAL SITE ~ NOT AN ADULT/CRACK/WAREZ/ ETC. to avoid violating the TOS/Privacy of forum. Thanks, lol. :ouch:

    TAS
     
  12. trickyricky

    trickyricky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    London, UK
    I get that advert banner if I visit that site with IE, but I don't get it at all if I use Firefox. It's not a popup, but an advert banner within the page, so to get rid of it you'll need something to strip out advertising banners from web pages. I use Adblock with Firefox and it obviously works, since if I disable Adblock, I see the banner in Firefox as well.

    I gave up using IE for serious browsing a long time ago, so I don't know what's available for it that's like Adblock (with filterset-G ad list), but most firewalls can block that stuff. I have Sunbelt Kerio and that can, and I recall ZoneAlarm being able to do it as well.
     
  13. Gety

    Gety Guest

    u need to get adblocking software. or a new browser.
     
  14. hadi

    hadi Guest

    Hi TD
    it won't close. clicking on it this appears(pic) now clicking ok or cancel it closes IE and change its size to small. the only solution is to kill IE process (ctrl + alt + delete)

    http://img235.imageshack.us/img235/9607/err0il.jpg

    it appeared again here(same address) some times other ads.
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/System-Info/Unknown-Device-Identifier.shtml

    http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/2411/did9ak.jpg

    I'm too old for that man.

    Thank you very much
     
  15. hadi

    hadi Guest

  16. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    you should be able to right-click it and find the location/url then you can put the address in your adblocker and block it. or i suppose you can put it in your hosts file.
     
  17. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    ahhh... I thought after your previous post prior to mine that it was 'embedded' in the page, and wanted URL to check it.... definitely ads, and of the worst kind by the looks. :gack:

    This is what I get in Opera and IE my Kerio firewall deems it to be dangerous content and blocks, see pic.

    EDIT: Actually in Firefox, AdBlock stops them first, I did the original test in Opera/IE, in Ff, I cannot see anything.
    But my 'SiteAdvisor' deems this site in the RED zone. Proceed with extreme caution.



    So, like trickyricky and ice recommended, you need to get some sort of ad stripper/blocker.

    In Firefox, that would be AdBlock, for IE/Opera, I honestly don't know, as I have my Firewall stripping them out with certain ActiveX ones.

    TAS
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 26, 2006
  18. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    hmmm... good reason by the looks....

    TAS
     

    Attached Files:

    • 133.JPG
      133.JPG
      File size:
      66.9 KB
      Views:
      357
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.