How can I secure a publicly accessed PC?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by trolleyclang, Oct 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trolleyclang

trolleyclang Registered Member

I am new to security for PCs. We have a very small town public library. I need to find a way to secure the Internet. Let them use it as much as they want. Our main concern is to keep the homepage from being changed either by a user or some other program. I have founds ways to gray out the place where the user can make changes to the homepage. But, how do I keep the user from clicking "yes" if some site they visit asks them if they want to change the homepage?

Thank you. o_O

2. pin

pin Registered Member

well, one way could perhaps be turning off active-x, and then graying out the options menu, if you are using IE. that way the pop-up question should never even come up. but that may break the occasional site.

3. solarpowered candle

solarpowered candle Registered Member

Perhaps javacools browser hijack blaster may be good for you http://www.wilderssecurity.net/bhblaster.html or Spyware Gaurd http://www.wilderssecurity.net/spywareguard.html

Also "Spybot search and destroy " has a settings to
    (1) lock IE start page settings against user changes
    (2) Lock IE control panel against opening from within.

http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?lang=en&page=download
    These settings are found on spybot by using the advanced mode. > Immunise>

4. JayK

JayK Poster

I would agree, matters like spybot locking homepage wont guard against it being altered by such malware.

To be absolutely safe, turn everything off, Java,javascript/VB,activex

5. solarpowered candle

solarpowered candle Registered Member

yea but a Library may require some of those settings to be active . Some times when we turn every thing off and are too paronoid we end up locking ourselves out of many resources , and some of these may ( or may not