How can I do this?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Hugger, Jun 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    I have a Dell XPS 15 with the new generation i5 cpu and Windows 7
    64 bit Home Premium.
    A couple of days ago I downloaded Macrium Reflect.
    Today I wanted to make a backup of C which went smoothly.
    However, in C is the 19 gigabyte partition put there by Dell to make
    it easy to restore the OS to it's original factory state.
    So what do I do with this? How do I do a backup of one without the
    other, if that's what I'm supposed to do? And if I need or want to restore
    the factory original, how do I do that?
    Thanks for any help.
    Hugger
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hugger,

    Is the Dell Recovery partition the "System, Active partition" in Disk Management?
     
  3. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    C:\ is the system partition, the Dell image should be in other partition (D:\ for instance), or be itself a hidden partition (you can spot this by checking the disk management)... Usually your computer comes with a software that allows you to restore that original factory image, or in some computers that operation can be done by pressing F8 during the boot > repair computer > and then you should find something like "Dell system restore".
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    AlexC,

    That's why I asked the question because the Dells I've seen with Win7 don't have the C: drive as the System Partition.
     
  5. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Yes, i didn't saw your reply because i was typing mine meanwhile.

    I didn't knew that. So far i haven't saw a brand new Dell with Windows 7, but only some old ones with XP. Where i live HP, Acer and Toshiba are much more widespread.
     
  6. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,279
    In some Dell computers with Windows 7 Home Premium, the partition that contains the Windows installation also contains the boot information. This is the C: partition and the active one. There is another "restore" partition, normally hidden. This contains the image to restore the "factory" configuration, that is, the configuration that the computer had when it was bought.

    In others, the boot information is in the restore partition. This partition is the active one, and can have the "C" letter assigned to it when viewed in some imaging or partition programs. The partition that contains the Windows installation has other letter assigned to it when viewed in these programs, but it is the "C" partition in Windows Explorer and Disk Manager.
     
  7. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Thanks for the help. I see where I went wrong, I think. When I opened M/R
    all the boxes were checked so I just left them that way.
    I don't remember what it's label said but it wasn't 'recovery'. I deleted the
    first backup image hoping that I'd figure this out.
    I took some more time to look around and what it does say is 102 MB OEM,
    a 19.53 Recovery partition and C is the OS. So when I make an image to restore, I think I need to image both of them and decide which one to use when the time comes.
    Again, thanks for the help.
    Hugger
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hugger,

    It is essential you determine (from Disk Management) if your Recovery partition is System, Active.
     
  9. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Brian, Yes, it is system, active.
    Thanks.
    Hugger
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hugger,

    That is the Dell system I'm familiar with. Three partitions. The Recovery partition being System, Active means the Win7 booting files (bootmgr and the Boot folder) are in the Recovery partition and not in the Win7 C: drive. So if you experienced a HD failure and you restored your Win7 image (only) to a new HD and set it Active, it wouldn't boot into Win7.

    I can understand why Dell did this. But if you are creating your own images you don't need to retain the Recovery partition. Do you really plan on returning your HD to the factory state?

    I prefer to copy the booting files from the Recovery partition to the Win7 partition and set it Active. Then delete the Recovery partition as well as slide and resize the Win7 partition. Now you only have one partition to image and it is self contained with booting files.

    The OEM diagnostic partition only needs to be backed up once. It doesn't change.

    Edit... If you don't want to delete the Recovery partition and you experience a HD failure then you have to restore both partitions to a new HD.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2012
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.