How can I do this with Firefox?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by MakoFusion, Jan 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    Is there a way to get Firefox to open new tabs in the same window for any links I click with the LEFT mouse button? Also it needs to keep the page I am currently reading reading on top. Whenever I surf I like to have the main page open and as I'm going down it I click any link that is useful... (Especially with forum reading) I have checked all the Tab extensions and none seem to carry such a feature.

    Lets say my main page is the "Wilders Security Forums > Privacy Software and Issues" area. I usually have to right click and 'open link in new tab' all the topics I would like to read. By the time I'm done selecting all the topics I have about 20-30 tabs open. Then I read them one by one and ethier x them out or reply to them (and them x them out when done with each) Quite honestly the right clicking and then selecting 'open link in new tab' is just not short enough for my so called 'powersurfing'.

    Am I lazy? I even have shortcuts to all programs on the Quick Launch so that I can open any program even if something is taking up the screen. - You won't find any icons on my desktop and rarely do I use the Start button.

    Thanks for your help in advance,
    Mikk Auður
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2006
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,904
    Location:
    Texas
    Tab Mix Plus
     

    Attached Files:

  3. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    Yes! Been looking for this for years... You are awesome.
     
  4. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    I knew Ron would find this one! I looked in the extensions, but there were too many sort through. I gave up. :oops:
     
  5. flocker

    flocker Guest

    hey ronjor, you've got a big mouse! :eek:
     
  6. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    I think that was my reaction when I got Tab Mix Plus a while back, too :)


    But, um, that was not... :D
     
  7. Hmm, I'm not sure if it's necessary to get tab mix plus for what the OP wants. Being a while, but Doesn't firefox's build in features allow that too?
     
  8. eyes-open

    eyes-open Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    721
    FF version 1.5 has brought around a few changes in the way tabs work.

    Included are the ability to move the tabs around and forcing links that would have opened a new window to open a new tab instead. This doesn't mean that all links will force a new tab by default. Some will simply clear & reload the new page in the existing tab. I suppose it is this action that MakoFusion wanted to have some influence over.

    I also lost a preferred option after going to 1.5 which was the ability to press Ctrl and left mouse button to force a new tab on demand. Tab Mix Plus has restored this.

    Cheers all & thanks ron for the heads-up on this extension.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.