Hosts Safe Error

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by penrob, Dec 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. penrob

    penrob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Virginia
    Receive a "Run-time error '9': Subscript out of range" error when attempting to Create New Backup for Host file under Tools. Running SPywareBlaster 2.6.1.o_O
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Hi penrob,

    What version of Windows are you running? Also, can you tell us about your Hosts file - it's size? is it in a special location or the standard one? Has Hosts Safe ever worked in SpywareBlaster for you before, or was this the first time you ran it?

    This extra information might help.
     
  3. penrob

    penrob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Virginia
    Running WindowsXP. Hosts file is in the standard location, but contains no data, not even a localhost entry. Have not attempted Hosts Safe previously, but assume a run-time error might result if attepmted on an empty file.
     
  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Bug confirmed. Tested on Windows XP with "Hosts" file in default location "%windir%\system32\drivers\etc\Hosts". If the file is empty (0 byte) then SpywareBlaster will get this error and close.

    I'm sure Javacool will look into this. In the meantime, a totally empty Hosts file is not a good thing. At a minimum, if you are going to have a Hosts file, it should have the localhost line:

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    If you have an interest in picking up an Ad protecting Hosts file take a look at this thread.

    Thanks for bring this to our attention.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Ahah!

    Thanks for reporting this - I'll have it fixed in the next version of SpywareBlaster. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.