HOSTS File

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by Scotcov, Oct 29, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    I've been using Outpost free for a while, and have gotten so used to it blocking all the ads on every page that I don't ever test any other firewalls, which drives me crazy. Also, I keep thinking of what Paul says: that he believes in 1 software for 1 job. So, I downloaded S.Martins host file. It sounds as if this file only blocks popups. Is this true? If so, where do I get other files to merge so that ALL ads are blocked.
    I know there is software for this, but I just want to play with a HOST file to see how it works.
    Thanks :)
    Scotcov
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
  3. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    I'm in such a daze over that Seldom Seen post that I'm not sure if I can think properly. WHEW!
    Anyway, thank you Pieter. That was a good article, but I'm new to the technical side of computers. So, I'm not sure if the question about using the HOST file to block ads was in the article.
    Sorry 'bout that. Glad you guys are around!
    Scotcov
     
  4. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    You didn't indicate which browser you use, but if it's IE, then you could make use of ADSHIELD
    http://www.adshield.org/
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi scotcov,

    Although I agree with MickeyTheMan about Adshield ;)
    here's some more reading material:
    http://www.xent.com/pipermail/fork/2002-August/013936.html
    http://www.smartin-designs.com/hosts_info_main.htm

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  6. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    I gleefully used IERadicator to get IE off my system :D
    I use Mozilla and Phoenix.
    I posted before I saw your new post, Pieter. Thank you! Great stuff!
     
  7. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hulo,

    Here a more complete Hosts based on Martins', spyblocker's and other hosts + personal entries.

    This Hosts blocks nearly all ads and prevents spy - and adwares phoning home.

    Direct d/l : http://websec.arcady.fr/HOSTS.zip

    Look out ! : There is a known issue with large Hosts file never solved with Win2K : preferabily use a pac file on this OS.

    Rgds,
     
  8. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    Thanks, JacK!!
    I know you use the HOST file. Do you like it more than ad blocker aps? If so, why?

    Scotcov
     
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi,

    I use S.Martin Hosts file. I add sites to it myself when I think I need to.
    A free utility called Hostess is very easy for maintaining Hosts.
    I also use IE-SPYAD and AdShield (instead of AdShield I used Agnis in the past, also from Eric Howes, in NIS).
    Hosts is not only for blocking advertisements. Every site that is mentioned in Hosts, will be blocked: no connection will be allowed.
    For AdShield I used my own way to add "sites" to it.
    I wrote sites here within quotation marks because you don't always have to put complete sites in the list of AdShield.
    What I mean with "For AdShield I used my own way to add "sites" to it" is: I simply made my list based on Agnis. It might not be the most elegant way, but it works!
     
  10. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hi scotov,

    I prefer using a frequently updated hosts file because no need to install one more app. It does not consume any resource or CPU time and does not leave a apparent port on the W3. It does not run on a local or remote proxy : I can use proxies for other purpose if need.
    You may also add your favorites in the hosts file : faster than DNS resolving.
    I am too using Hostess to maintain my Hosts file and IE-Spyad for the sensible sites area.

    Cheers,
     
  11. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    True about favourites for quicker dns resolve.
    And this can be quickly achieved with Fastnet99

    http://pages.infinit.net/carbo1/hostfile.html
     
  12. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    I do like the thing about not adding another ap. I run alot of background apps already on my win98, 128 mg ram machine. Don't think it wants many more.
    I've begun dling Fastnet99. Can't wait to give it a try.
    Thanks for the fantastic help. :)

    Scotcov
     
  13. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    I'm in shock! I used Fastnet99 to merge S.Martins host file with the one JacK referred me to. The final list of blocked ads was 19,074!!
    I guess the internet really is big business. I've said to myself, "Welcome to the real world".
    It works great. No problem with adding the favorites (or bookmarks, in my case).

    Scotcov
     
  14. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    Fastnet has a button to eliminate duplicates. Did you use it ? Probably not as i would be surprised if you ended up with more than 13,000 after.
    Not suprised you liked fasnet !
    After all, i would not have made the suggestion, would I :D :D :D
    Many tools included with it that are worth looking at.
     
  15. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    :D
    Yup! I used it.

    Scotcov
     
  16. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    OOPS :p
    I spoke way too soon. I didn't use it.
    I'm doing it now, and it looks like it may take a while...
    a long while. 19, 074 records to analyze! I hate ads.
    Thanks again for the help.

    Scotcov
     
  17. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    "Fastnet has a button to eliminate duplicates. Did you use it ? Probably not as i would be surprised if you ended up with more than 13,000 after."

    Just a followup. I ended up with 17870 ad entries, minus the 80 or so favorites/bookmarks. And it didn't take Fastnet as long as I thought it would to find/delete the dupes as I thought it would.

    Scotcov
     
  18. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    My HOSTS file contains over 18.000 entries, but I have added sites there myself.
     
  19. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    I can't tell you how satisfied I am using this method of the hosts file.
    I would have thought that with so many entries my computer would be slowed, but I really think it's speeded up.
    I had many problems using DNS Cache in Outpost. I think maybe it was a case of too many jobs for 1 app (although I do really like that firewall).
    Keep sending your great ideas for us newbies! :)

    Scotcov
     
  20. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Scotcov, you have me confused. What does this have to do with the DNS cache?
    Also, did you try using Eric Howes ad list, which is made especially for Outposts ad blocker?
    http://www.staff.uiuc.edu/~ehowes/resource.htm#Outpost
    I find that does a pretty go job, and he updates it regularly.
    Just wondering.
     
  21. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    Hi Root.
    to quote JacK: "You may also add your favorites in the hosts file : faster than DNS resolving."
    Yes, I used Eric Howes ad list, and it worked great. It's just that, as I think I said in the 1st post, I wanted to try out different firewalls. But I had gotten so accustomed to not seeing ads, that I needed a new way to block them.
    I absolutely was satisfied with Outpost, except for what I think were problems when I used DNS Cache.
    Now after thinking about it, am I mixing something up? DNS caching IS the same thing as putting favorites in the hosts file, isn't it?
    I'm too new at this stuff.
    Scotcov o_O o_O
     
  22. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hi Scotcov :

    Her osme tweaks you might apply to your DNS Cache :
    Regedit and go to the key and modify or ad these values :

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Dnscache\Parameters]
    "CacheHashTableBucketSize"=dword:00000001
    "CacheHashTableSize"=dword:00000180
    "MaxCacheEntryTtlLimit"=dword:0000fa00
    "MaxSOACacheEntryTtlLimit"=dword:0000012d
    "NegativeCacheTime"=dword:00000000
    "NegativeSOACacheTime"=dword:00000000
    "NetFailureCacheTime"=dword:00000000

    Hoping it helps

    ***ALWAYS SAVE YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE ANY CHANGE !***
     
  23. Scotcov

    Scotcov Guest

    Hi JacK,

    Thanks! As soon as I log off, I'm going to modify my registry. I appreciate all this from all of you.. It's a new realm for me, and I'm loving it.
    But if my computer - or my brain - explodes, I know who to blame. :D
     
  24. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Don´t underestimate yourself scotcov. Your computer will go first :D
    It was your idea and you did all the work. On top of that, you knew where to go for help ;)

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  25. steve

    steve Security Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    Have you tried disabling the Win2k service "DNS Client". I've received numerous complaints from Win2k users and so far this has solved their problem when using a large hosts file. When I get time I'm going to put up instructions on my site to accomplish this but for now, I just have a standard email already made up for replies to this problem.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.