Hosts File

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by bamaman66, Sep 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I downloaded this file and installed it in C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc and then tested it by putting ad\doubleclick.net in the address bar. It did not get the result that it should. Does anyone have any suggestions?
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    What Hosts file did you download....and so as not to assume wrongly....what operating system does this concern ?
     
  3. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I downloaded the one at mvps.org. I am using windows xp home edition.
     
  4. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    What result did you get? Also try ad.doubleclick.net instead.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2006
  5. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I tried ad.doubleclick.net and got this "This is a doubleclick advertising server"
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Do you use an Internet Service Provider like AOL or use any type of a proxy ?
     
  7. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    No I don't use a proxy and I am not on AOL.
     
  8. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    When you downloaded the file....it did remain as a filename of hosts only....without an extension ?
     
  9. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I downloaded the zip file into my downloads and then I unzipped it into C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
     
  10. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    You didn't really answer Bubba's question. The host file needs to have no extension for it to work properly. If the was filename was host.txt, or whatever, then you need to delete the extension. Alternatively, you can try Hostman here.
     
  11. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    The host file did not have an extension
     
  12. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    You could use notepad to open the HOSTS file in the system32\drivers\etc. path. If the file shows up with text files selected, the extension is wrong- you need to select 'all files' in notepad to see it. Then search for doubleclick.net and you should find a few instances (I believe the 3rd or 4th will be ad.doubleclick.net). If that's OK, restart the PC and try your browser again. What browser are you using?
     
  13. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Did you check that the hosts file is located in the right directory?
    Did your try editing it to make sure you have the correct one?
    And also, when you unzipped, did it ask you to overwrite the previous file?
    You also need to empty your browsers cache to make sure your aren't viewing any old ads.
     
  14. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I have a file called HOSTS with 486kb. I don't know if it is txt or not
     
  15. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    It is in the right directory and I have deleted the cache.
     
  16. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    You can rightclick it and see it's properties.
    If the filetype is "file" then you are good to go.

    You could also use this one: http://everythingisnt.com/NoAdHOSTS.exe
    It automatically detects your OS and will install the hosts file at the correct location.
     
  17. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Then I think a reboot would be in order ;)
     
  18. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I have got the hosts file working. Does anyone have any experience with hosts secure?
     
  19. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    If you could provide a link that would be great :)
     
  20. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  21. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
  22. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I still use the Hosts file manager from Bluetack.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.