HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,127
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Now that I think of it, I was probably talking about exiting an app, then you would see the CAPTCHA protection, which protects against malware killing security software. But simply pausing protection should always be possible, because normally speaking, only the security tool can pause itself. So yes, weird that HMPA doesn't offer this yet.
     
  2. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,537
    Location:
    USA
    Even more weird that they would ask why we want it. None of the other security programs that provide this feature have ever asked why it is needed. They just make it available.
     
  3. akhsj

    akhsj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Analysis of memory dump after reboot from Windows Update for: August 20, 2020-KB4570723 Cumulative Update Preview for .NET Framework 3.5 and 4.8 for Windows 10 Version 1903, Windows Server 1903 RTM, Windows 10, version 1909 and Windows Server, version 1909

    Your computer crashed or a problem was reported. This was probably caused by the following module:
    HitmanPro.Alert 3.8.6 build 875 [current version]
    hmpalert.sys (hmpalert+0x26ECF)
    Bugcheck code: 0x18 (0x0, 0xFFFFD386B2514770, 0x10, 0x1)
    Error: REFERENCE_BY_POINTER
    file path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\hmpalert.sys

    After a second reboot (with no other user action) system is working without issue.

    This is: Windows 10 Pro 1904 (build: 18363) fully updated
     
  4. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,383
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    It would be unfortunate if HMPA guys are starting to disregard or ignore the value and necessity of heeding user requests and suggestions like your previous helpful suggestion
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,127
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I guess they simply never considered that sometimes it may be useful to simply pause protection, in case stuff gets wrongfully blocked, or in case you simply don't want to interfere with a trusted app install.
     
  6. Libraman

    Libraman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    83
    I scan before open the file.. if I want. My resident antimalware is KIS and my experience as user.
    hmp scan.png
     
  7. Richard981

    Richard981 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you
     
  8. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    216
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,537
    Location:
    USA
    I have heard a lot of crickets around here when waiting for responses. But after awhile, one gets used to it and the sense of urgency is diminished.
     
  10. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    If the GUI shows (Locked) the service has crashed, you'll need to reboot to get things fresh again.
    If that doesn't work send me a DM here or contact support@hitmanpro.com
     
  11. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Did you add the games to Exploit Mitigations?
    If you add it to Other keystroke encryption will be active, chose media/office to have the protections without keystroke.
     
  12. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Thank you, the orange keystroke encryption flyout eventually started working again without a further reboot. Weird, but I'm not complaining. :)
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,158
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I just had Keystroke Encryption messing with Windows Search.

    • Win10 x64 2004.
    • HMP.A 3.8.6 Build 875.
     
  14. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,761
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Unfortunately, I am still having a similar issue. I tried what was suggested in #16086, but it did nothing.
     
  15. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    890
    Same here now and then.
     
  16. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,761
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I guess I'm glad to know that it's not just me having issues with keystroke encryption.
     
  17. Erik T

    Erik T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    Unfortunately, HitmanPro.Alert (3.7.14 build 797) blocks Free LaewoPlayer 2.2. since some days... Does somebody knows what's going on there?
     
  18. Erik T

    Erik T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    It's the same problem with (HMA 3.8.4 build 871) and actual LaewoPlayer... Any help appreciated.
     
  19. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    890
    You should update HmP.Alert, because latest version of HmP.Alert is build 875. Using build 875: no problem downloading LaewePlayer.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2020
  20. Erik T

    Erik T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    Sorry, but you aren't right, deugniet. Same blocking message appears with HMA 3.8.6 (build 875). Please check the image I've added.

    HMA_386_875.jpg
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2020
  21. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    890
    Ah Its not preventing the download of the player but when trying to install or run the player I guess. Take a look at the Technische Details and post them. Btw HitmanPro says its clean.
     
  22. Erik T

    Erik T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, the player isn't running anymore because of getting blocked by HitmanPro.Alert. At the attached file you'll find all the details you asked for:
    laewo.txt
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 7, 2020
  23. Erik T

    Erik T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Germany
    Problem partially fixed with HitmanPro-Support.
     
  24. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    VPN city
    Hey, how do I add an scanning exception to hitman pro? I use sandboxie plus, HMP keeps detecting its driver file over and over.

    The only reason the driver file is detected is literally just the signature it has.

    RonnyT if you need to DM me about this, you know you can.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2020
  25. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    942
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    HMP.A just stopped dism.exe, while I was creating a recovery stick for Veeam Agent...

    Isn't this a good reason, to have a switch to temporary pause HMP.A?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.