HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,893
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    +1

    Windows as per sig.
     
  2. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,333
    Location:
    Outer space
    Autoupdate went fine on x64 1909.
     
  3. abbs

    abbs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Nederlands
    After reporting and restarting, HitmanPro.Alerd was updated to version 3.8.2 Build 867.
    No problems Windows 10 pro.
     
  4. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    552
    Location:
    Hengelo
  5. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,130
    Location:
    USA
    I'm still running 3.7.13.795 on an XP machine. Is it not supposed to auto-update to 3.8.2?
     
  6. HempOil

    HempOil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Canada
    Just rebooted into 867. Everything is working without a hitch.
     
  7. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,229
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2020
  8. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Nope not yet, we're Ironing out the latest wrinkles and will update the 7xx fleet as soon as that's done.
     
  9. Mr Humphries

    Mr Humphries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Australia
    No problem:
    • manually updating to 865
    • automatically updating to 867
    • rebooting in general
    • updating ESET to 13.1.16.0
    on Windows 19577. Now updating Windows to 19582.
     
  10. Mr Humphries

    Mr Humphries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Australia
    No problem on Windows 19582.
     
  11. Sniperks

    Sniperks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    USA
  12. acid king

    acid king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    europe
    I got some events Risk Reduction CredGuard in HPA build 867 about new Hitman Build 312

    br.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2020
  13. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Would you mind copy/pasting the alert details, or send the in PM here?
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,675
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've just noticed that I'm not getting the green fly-out when I open Firefox.
     
  15. Sir Percy

    Sir Percy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Posts:
    253
    Firefox 74? I get the fly-out with 74.
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,675
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yep. It might be a compatibility with Norton. Other browsers are OK.
     
  17. Sir Percy

    Sir Percy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Posts:
    253
    Ok my setup is Emsisoft and Blackfog.
     
  18. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    841
    Logboeknaam: Application
    Bron: HitmanPro.Alert
    Datum: 31-3-2020 08:52:47
    Gebeurtenis-id:911
    Taakcategorie: Mitigation
    Niveau: Fout
    Trefwoorden: Klassiek
    Gebruiker: n.v.t.
    Computer: *****
    Beschrijving:
    Mitigation CredGuard
    Timestamp 2020-03-31T06:52:46

    Platform 10.0.18363/x64 v867 06_4e%
    PID 15604
    Feature 003D0A30000001A6
    Application C:\Users\****\Desktop\HitmanPro_x64.exe
    Created 2018-05-09T12:49:04
    Description HitmanPro 3.8.18

    \REGISTRY\MACHINE\SAM\

    Process Trace
    1 C:\Users\****\Desktop\HitmanPro_x64.exe [15604] 2020-03-31T06:49:38
    2 C:\Windows\explorer.exe [14124] 2020-03-31T06:11:12
    3 C:\Windows\System32\userinit.exe [11876] 2020-03-31T06:11:12 21.6s
    4 C:\Windows\System32\winlogon.exe [13584] 2020-03-28T10:33:06
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\WinLogon.exe -SpecialSession
    5 C:\Windows\System32\smss.exe [6544] 2020-03-28T10:33:05 172ms
    \SystemRoot\System32\smss.exe 000000fc 00000084 C:\WINDOWS\System32\WinLogon.exe -SpecialSession
    6 C:\Windows\System32\smss.exe [472] 2020-03-24T18:49:37
    \SystemRoot\System32\smss.exe

    Dropped Files
    1 C:\Users\****\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\IB 2019.lnk
    Dropped by \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Windows\explorer.exe [14124]
    2 C:\Users\****\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\Nieuwe map.lnk
    Dropped by \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Windows\explorer.exe [14124]
    3 C:\Users\****\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Themes\CachedFiles\CachedImage_1366_768_POS4.jpg
    Dropped by \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Windows\explorer.exe [14124]

    Thumbprints
    fe8d58753a1d58397458e78b717416a868995156b153f96e2504b74f66acef0a
     
  19. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    841
    Logboeknaam: Application
    Bron: HitmanPro.Alert
    Datum: 25-3-2020 16:38:47
    Gebeurtenis-id:911
    Taakcategorie: Mitigation
    Niveau: Fout
    Trefwoorden: Klassiek
    Gebruiker: n.v.t.
    Computer: ****
    Beschrijving:
    Mitigation CredGuard
    Timestamp 2020-03-25T15:38:47

    Platform 10.0.18363/x64 v867 06_4e%
    PID 8512
    Feature 003D0A30000001A6
    Application C:\Users\****\Desktop\HitmanPro_x64.exe
    Created 2018-05-09T12:49:04
    Description HitmanPro 3.8.18

    \Registry\Machine\SAM\SAM

    Process Trace
    1 C:\Users\****\Desktop\HitmanPro_x64.exe [8512] 2020-03-25T15:35:15
    "C:\Users\****\Desktop\HitmanPro_x64.exe" /updated:"C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\HitmanPro_x64.exe"
    2 C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\HitmanPro_x64.exe [2612] 2020-03-25T15:35:14 1.2s
    "C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\HitmanPro_x64.exe" /update:"C:\Users\****\Desktop\HitmanPro_x64.exe"
    3 C:\Users\****\Desktop\HitmanPro_x64.exe [9448] 2020-03-25T15:35:05 9.7s
    4 C:\Windows\explorer.exe [10436] 2020-03-25T14:56:49
    5 C:\Windows\System32\userinit.exe [1272] 2020-03-25T14:56:48 24.6s
    6 C:\Windows\System32\winlogon.exe [10528] 2020-03-24T18:52:05
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\WinLogon.exe -SpecialSession
    7 C:\Windows\System32\smss.exe [11248] 2020-03-24T18:52:04 301ms
    \SystemRoot\System32\smss.exe 00000080 00000084 C:\WINDOWS\System32\WinLogon.exe -SpecialSession
    8 C:\Windows\System32\smss.exe [472] 2020-03-24T18:49:37
    \SystemRoot\System32\smss.exe

    Dropped Files
    1 C:\Users\****\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\S1.txt.lnk
    Dropped by \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Windows\explorer.exe [10436]
    2 C:\Users\****\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Themes\CachedFiles\CachedImage_1366_768_POS4.jpg
    Dropped by \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Windows\explorer.exe [10436]
    Read by \Device\HarddiskVolume3\Windows\explorer.exe [10436]

    Thumbprints
    fe8d58753a1d58397458e78b717416a868995156b153f96e2504b74f66acef0a
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,675
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Can HMP.A protect HP Support Assistant from this?
     
  21. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,225
    I've found that the "DLL Hijacking" function, if enabled on my Win10 Pro x64 system, prevents Steam (version 1586022601, built Apr 3 2020, at 17:40:46) from loading. The exact error is "Failed to load steamui.dll". This error is difficult to link to HMP.A due to an absence of alerts or log entries. However, disabling "DLL Hijacking" results in the issue clearing. I'm running HMP.A 3.8.2 build 867.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2020
  22. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    918
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    This sounds very familiar.
    I PM RonnyT about this issue awhile back. Now that there is more than one of us, they might work on this.
    I was using Win 10 Home x64.
    Back on Win 7 for now.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2020
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,675
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    It looks like HMP.A is crashing Firefox on my machine.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,130
    Location:
    USA
    I just upgraded HMPA to 3.8.2 (from 3.7.1) on my XP machine. However, the new version appears to be incompatible with another security app that I've used for years (EXE Radar Pro). If I wanted to downgrade to the previous version of HMPA that I was using, do I have to first uninstall 3.8.2 -- or is there a workaround to make these two security apps compatible?
     
  25. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,893
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    EXE Radar Pro v3 or v4? The previous version is history.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.