HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. maniac2003

    maniac2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Netherlands
    @RonnyT
    I have the same issue on two devices now. How to troubleshoot this?
     
  2. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    It's a known issue with 1903 and "file save as" dialogs for browsers.

    You can either save the file and use explorer to "rename" or disable keystroke encryption for the browser, but that defeats the purpose of secure browsing.
    So either use 2 browsers one for download+disabled keystroke and the other as daily driver, until we've fixed the issue.
     
  3. HempOil

    HempOil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Canada
    This happened to me once, yesterday. I did your first suggestion of renaming using explorer. Not a big deal and an easy workaround.
     
  4. maniac2003

    maniac2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Netherlands
    ok, good to know.
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,763
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, I noticed that during install of HMPA, I get an alert from SpyShelter about HMPA wanting to take a screenshot, is there any reason for this? Windows Explorer also gives this alert, but I just wondered about it.
     
  6. maniac2003

    maniac2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Windows 10 1903 Cumulative Update KB4501375 fixes the Custom Views Event viewer crash. Works for me. :thumb:
     
  7. HempOil

    HempOil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Canada
    It's working properly again for me, as well.
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,790
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I tried installing Alert again. First restart I got past the Windows logo, but then the machine got stuck on the spinning dots once again. As I cannot boot into Windows the only way I can recover is by restoring a backup. I do not have time for testing (or experimenting).

    Unfortunately, Alert cannot run on my Windows 10 x64 1903 machines.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
  9. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    806
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    HMP.A is still running fine on my W10-1903 -b18362.207
    Also two more 1903 machines are running HMP.A flawless.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
  10. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,183
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Any issue with the keyboard encryption becoming the output as some members here have reported ?
     
  11. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,504
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Certainly an odd one, Krusty. If I recall you have that even on Win 10 clean install, no other softs, default Alert settings.
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,790
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yep, fresh install of Windows while using WD, first and only other installed security software was Alert. First restart stalled at the spinning dots.

    Some may remember the drama I had trying to upgrade Windows. Until I left Alert out of the equation I could neither upgrade nor clean install Windows.
     
  13. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    905
    When I was trying out the free version of HMP.A, I also had boot issues. I don't have it installed now and everything seems fine.
     
  14. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    806
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Forgot about that.
    It only happens on renaming a download, before storing.
    But it's a minor issue, not a show stopper.
     
  15. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,183
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    @Hiltihome

    Thanks for the info. :)
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,790
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Sorry to hear you had troubles with Alert, but I am glad I'm not the only one.
     
  17. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    905
    Thanks for your concern.
     
  18. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,218
    Location:
    Outer space
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,790
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  20. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    USA
    Memory integrity protection looks like a feature of Windows Defender Exploit Guard.

    It wouldn't be unreasonable to suspect that there may be a conflict with HMPA in certain circumstances.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/329700/ho...oit-protection-works-and-how-to-configure-it/
    I have had Defender completely disabled by group policy for years, and I have no issues with HMPA on Windows 10 at this time.
     
  21. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    803
    Sup , been a while, anyhow , when will you guys fix secure desktop mode not working while running HitmanPro.ALERT in Windows7, its been a while since ive asked about this issue , thanks in advance
     
  22. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    This seems to reproduce, besides that the sole feature of "Secure desktop" is to prevent keyloggers to steal you master password, as Keepass is already protected by our keyboard guard there is no (or even less) risk of keyloggers stealing your master password (Secure desktop has some implementation limits), we'll see if we can mitigate this in a future version.
     
  23. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    Hengelo
    HitmanPro.Alert 3.7.9 build 781 Release Candidate

    Changelog (compared to build 779):
    • Improved compatibility with third-party security applications on Windows 10 version 1903 (19H1). The latest Windows 10 update applies extra exploit protections on fontdrvhost.exe, which could cause the machine to freeze into a black screen when logging off.
    • Improved Application Lockdown compatibility with the Microsoft .NET Visual C# command-line compiler (csc.exe).
    • Improved exclusion capability of the Kernel32Trap mitigation (part of Process Hollowing mitigation). This system-wide exploit mitigation blocks applications that disrespect module load order.
    • Improved Heap Heap Protect – our system-wide dynamic shellcode mitigation – to handle third-party hooks and compatibility with binaries packed with PECompact.
    • Improved compatibility with return-oriented programming (ROP) exhibited in the OfficeTabLoader.
    Download
    https://dl.surfright.nl/hmpalert3b781.exe

    Notes
    • If you want to downgrade from build 839 CTP1 to this build 781, you need to uninstall build 839 first and remove this file: C:\ProgramData\HitmanPro.Alert\excalibur.db
    • Let us know how this new version runs on your machine. We aim to release it coming Monday for general availability (GA).
    Thanks! :thumb:
     
  24. hotlips69

    hotlips69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Sussex. UK
    I'm starting to get frustrated with the Keystroke Encryption which shows incorrect characters on the Save As dialog when you are trying to amend the saved name.
    I'm sure I'm not the only one with this query?
     
  25. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    It's a known issue with 1903 and "file save as" dialogs for browsers.

    You can either save the file and use explorer to "rename" or disable keystroke encryption for the browser, but that defeats the purpose of secure browsing.
    So either use 2 browsers one for download+disabled keystroke and the other as daily driver, until we've fixed the issue.

    We're working on a solution but it's taking a complete overhaul of the Keystroke Encryption module as Microsoft changed some stuff under the hood...
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.