HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. Armadax

    Armadax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Zuid-Holland
    If had any compatibility issues between HMPA and KIS, I reported them straight away. But KIS started bugging with world of warcraft and sometimes with other software, which I had multiple times, and thus uninstalled KIS. However, I always returned...

    No specific threat I guess. Just the world at large :)
    The problem is always in these debates: you don't know what you will encounter or what will be created in the near future. Just to be sure that I won't loose any data, I already backup through the Carbonite service. And KIS feels a better performer than Defender if you go from all the reviews. But depending on the nature of the testing you're already covered for 85% and you don't know if you'll encounter malicious software in the bracket 85-99 that KIS covers additionally. Or that you're really lucky and encounter the 1% that KIS won't cover. Mix that in with the fact that the percentage of coverage moves on a daily (hourly?) basis and that AV suites themselves can be an additional attack vector and I find it quite difficult to really make a good assessment whether the extra cost, source of possible issues with regular tasks is really worth it.
     
  2. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    @Umbra
    In your case you even lower your security settings when you use e.g. AdGuard, since https filtering is a big mess. It downgrades your, since it e.g. not supports TLS 1.3. yet (while cloudflare already supports the new version). Sometimes less is more. Also remember that every browser needs workarounds because useless AV filtering techniques which also results in the opposite - lowering your security. Imho Browser should be Browser and AV only AV otherwise a lot of resources and manpower is necessary to fix AV industrie mistakes.

    Sorry for OT, just want to mention and clarify that more isn't always better.
     
  3. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    I MUST agree, have to agree. I've been primed for a while to get rid of "antivirus" altogether. Workin' on it. :)
     
  4. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,135
    Location:
    USA
    Malwarebytes has a context menu scan, which is extremely useful when HMPA's companion program, HMP, is without a context menu scan, as it has been for more than the last month.
     
  5. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    You could scan via WD. (link fixed .. thanks to FanJ for letting me know - sh*t happens!)

    But from what I know the process protection already scans everything e.g. if you unpack something with Winrar. I tested it with latest CTP1 and it detected the malware which was unpacked. Normally it's not necessary to scan via context menu when you enabled all features under 'process-protection'. The rest is more for real-time protection anyway.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2017
  6. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,775
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    TSL 1.3 isn't deployed everywhere and the difference in security is not huge compared to 1.2, so such a big risk to me, not saying my traffic is encrypted by other solutions.
     
  7. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    USA
    I avoid "security suites". And also avoid web protection and web scanners (HTTP or HTTPS), and instead use uMatrix and/or uBlock Origin as browser extensions to block ad and/or malware sites. Extensive filter options exist in these free products to customize. Privacy Badger and/or Disconnect can give control over web trackers. Privacy Badger from EFF is based on a non-signature based behavior algorithm! :thumb:

    But I do believe in running a top-tier AV with only high detection rates and low false positives, based on independent tests. My first choices in that regard would probably be Avira, Bitdefender, or Kaspersky.

    Then follow-up with a good anti-exploit app such as HMPA. And a second opinion on-demand malware scanner, or two...

    Always use a hardware firewall such as a router you control, or a reliable VPN if mobile.

    My two cents!!! :D
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2017
  8. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    USA
    The new features sound very promising. Especially the Real-time Anti-Malware. Good work!!! :thumb:
     
  9. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    494
    Location:
    Hungary
    any other way to receive the beta? i'm a long time hmpa user but i can't seem to pm on this forum yet :(
     
  10. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    14,825
    Yes, this new feature is interesting
    I think it needs some time until new members (Joined: Today) can use the PM-feature. But i'm not sure about this.
     
  11. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    494
    Location:
    Hungary
    yea looks like it :(
     
  12. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    USA
    Hop into a few other threads and boost your post count. That might help!
     
  13. erreale

    erreale Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Italy
    HitmanPro.Alert 3.7 build 704 CTP1 – PRIVATE

    I have sent you PM, because I want to participate in the beta program. @erikloman
     
  14. ronald739

    ronald739 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    121
    Location:
    Australia
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hi @erikloman ,

    PM sent.

    No, not now. Sorry. :oops:
     
  16. mrhex1

    mrhex1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Timbuktu
    I am using KAV 2017 myself. On my low powered Intel NUC desktop I have KAV 2017 running, along with the MalwareBytes 3.0, & HMPA. With Malwarebytes I tend to turn off the ransomware & exploit protection since I view HMPA's as more complete/polished. With malware bytes I only enable Web & Malware protection. Oddly the HMPA icon won't show up with my non-admin user in which case I have to manually open. But the browser flyout does happen.

    On my laptop I also have KAV 2017, Malware Bytes 3, & HMPA. The key difference is that I have malware bytes protection disabled & only have the on demand scan enabled.
     
  17. Nizarawi

    Nizarawi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Posts:
    137
  18. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,784
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What the hell, now this is what I call innovation! As a true HIPS-technology fanatic, it's going to be very hard to resist HMPA. But could you give some more info about the features? For example, which credentials are being protected, and how does the Privilege Guard works exactly? And I assume it's possible to turn off real-time cloud protection?
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,784
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Looks interesting, so it's basically AV + HMPA? I do hope you will be able to use it without having to sign up for an account, I'm not into the "Dashboard" thingy.

    Cool, and of course Invincea is now owned by Sophos, so this makes it even more of a strong player.
     
  20. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    PM sent, here to. :thumb:
     
  21. ohgood

    ohgood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    cold upper midwest
    PM sent to ericloman re beta.

    Congratulations ericloman , markloman & Surfright ! I'm very excited to try out this build. I'ts really inspiring to "watch' your hark work, innovation - and success!
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    has someone using the new beta found any incompatibility with MBAE?
    Last time I tried MBAE with HPA chrome didn't work properly.

    Has the hitman pro cloud something to do with sophos (invincea)? Or sophos is using HPA tech but not the other way around?
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,293

    You shouldn't. HMPA shuts down the part of MBAE that conflicts.
     
  24. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    Pls stop the 'Pm sent' spam in this thread, I always think it's something important. You can contact the HitmManPro developer directly via the board own 'conversation' function.

    Thanks friends. :thumb:
     
  25. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,892
    Location:
    USA
    Why would you want to use MBAE along side HMPA since they both provide exploit protection?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.