HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    450
    Location:
    italy
    bump, sorry (i hope the latter is right word :D)
     
  2. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,419
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Ah, OK, I understand. :)

    But I suppose the rest of what Erik mentioned still applies:
     
  3. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    450
    Location:
    italy
    yes, i remember...

    :mad:, Sophos!

    :D
     
  4. Lonesome Bob

    Lonesome Bob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    unknown
    NiteRanger’s comments in post #13477 indicated he wished to store whole system images externally to an always connected storage drive. In the reply NiteRanger received from cruelsister in post #13479 it was suggested to add an internal drive for incremental backups. In my opinion this wasn’t going to be a workable solution since the OP indicated he is using a tablet device.

    My suggestion to NiteRanger was to use a home NAS device to provide storage for complete images as well as full and incremental backups without the bother of reattaching an external drive particularly in the case of hourly incremental backups.

    In my setup I have a daily scheduled task that transfers a full system image to a NAS device containing two 8TB hard drives in a RAID 1 configuration. The task takes about 8 minutes to complete a 50GB transfer. If something ‘bad’ happens during testing I can recover in a few minutes simply by re-imaging a system using an image from one of the previous days. If on a given day I’m doing a lot of testing and recovery I’ll simply run the scheduled task manually for as many times as needed.

    About the only maintenance involved is every couple of months I’ll delete some of the older system images to reacquire storage space.

    I don’t consider such suggestions off topic. I think it is essential to learn and share how best to manage and maintain a quality testing environment for HMPA as well as those additional security products SurfRight/Sophos suggests is essential to a complete security solution.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,659
    I think Cruelsisters comment may have been misunderstood. I don't know of any imaging program that allows storing the full image one place and imcrementals elsewhere. they all have to be in the same location, and putting them on the disk that was imaged is a waste of time.
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,441
    Location:
    USA
  7. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    805
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    Nah, I was speaking strictly for myself, I have.....problems in this area. :argh: Actually, I am interested in learning more about an NAS/RAID setup, my current means is effective but no-tech. I will look into this more.:)

    Is there a new build coming out soon? Fixing some user-specific issues?
     
  8. mood

    mood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    2,289
    have Patience...
    They are working on a new version.
     
  9. Damnatus

    Damnatus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    I know this very well.
    Done this asap I installed HMPA besides G Data end 2015. Expanded the exclusions to every single exe inside the G Data Folder (even the ones for Tray) now. When iTunes is excluded also from the Exploit Protection it hang at closing, while iTunes states that it's saving the media library. If not, than it freezes the desktop/computer. (If I do a soft reset the monitor gets black and I hear shutting down services (like Skype) but the PC never shuts down fully, so I have to do a hard reset.)

    Until Creators Update there were no such hardlock/freeze issue with any program, even in the combination of HMPA and G Data. They coexisted peacefully.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  10. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,419
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    For my Windows 7 systems, I never made any exclusions for HMPA and G Data or vice versa. Nor do I disable G Data's exploit protection, anti-ransomware, BankGuard, or keylogger protection.
    On Windows 7, I notice no conflicts at all.
    Well .. one minor issue that I notice once in a while, is a momentary interference when typing in IE11 address bar or web forms or such. I'm not sure if that is because of HMPA's keystroke encryption, or G Data's keylogger protection, or a conflict. The issue is so minor, I'm too lazy to sort it out. ;)
    I can imagine that things are different for Windows 10, compared to my Windows 7 experiences.
     
  11. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    805
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    Also no exclusions, but then again, I use the built-in Windows 10 security system to avoid such conflicts in the first place. Also have the periodic keyboard lag in W10/Internet Explorer, it is EXTREMELY annoying. Guess what, disabling Keystroke Encryption makes it go away, but for this browser, it's not a permanent option. I wonder if anyone has such lags using the Edge browser, seeing as it doesn't accommodate this feature?
     
  12. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,419
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Thanks.
    On my Windows 7 system, what I see is no lag, but missing the first few keystrokes altogether, once in a while.
    Yes, I guess it's HMPA's keystroke encryption, and disabling it would stop that annoyance, I suppose.
     
  13. Damnatus

    Damnatus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Had it also for testing purposes on W10 for a while, not noticing problems. But setting the exclusions seemed the right way (worked so far 'til now). BankGuard still active. AR not.
     
  14. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,337
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Should hmpa have a exclusion for a separate hmp app.
     
  15. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,686
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Not sure to get what you meant, you think about excluding HMP in HMPA? if that , there is no need. HMP is just a scanner.
     
  16. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    805
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    ?
    HitmanPro (HMP) scanner is intrinsically a part of HitmanPro Alert. It's built into HMPA in the event you get an exploit mitigation alert and the scanner can be then be executed straight from the Alert screen. There is no real time feature to HMP to justify its being excluded from anything, least of all HMPA.
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,914
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I often also experience this also, or scrambled characters, in Firefox search bar or when typing in Gmail, on Win 10 (primary machine).

    I am pretty sure it's HMPA keystroke encryption, but I put up with it, as I'd rather not disable it. I do not use any other anti-keylogging software so it is not a conflict in that regard.
     
  18. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,419
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    @erikloman,
    @markloman,

    Here's some feedback on what I reported earlier.

    January 24 and February 3, I reported the CryptoGuard and LibreOffice x86 on Windows x64 issue. As Erik mentioned on February 27, the CryptoGuard and LibreOffice x86 on Windows x64 issue should be solved with the new major version of CryptoGuard. But as Erik mentioned later, the major new build is taking long because of all the overhead, so that is still taking some time.

    January 24, I also reported some other issues that I noticed, see additional issues 1 to 7 reported in that January 24 post.
    Here's the good news: those additional issues 1 to 7 are solved, for quite some time.
    Issues 1 to 6, the issues with marking\copying\moving text or files, may have been mouse related. (When the cat's away ...!) I changed the mouse, and I haven't seen those issues again. (And let's not blame the cat, blame me for dropping the mouse once too often.)
    Issue 7, LibreOffice Writer crashing when closing, was also solved. I don't know if that issue was solved in a later LibreOffice version, or in HMPA, but it is solved.

    So, of my January 24 and February 3 reports, only the CryptoGuard and LibreOffice x86 on Windows x64 issue remains, which will be solved with the new major version of CryptoGuard, later.
     
  19. mood

    mood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    2,289
    Sometimes i quickly switch to the browser and type something in, and then i can see a few wrong characters.
    But it doesn't happen very often.
     
  20. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    360
    Location:
    Swiss
    Will there be a native HitManPro Alert 64-bit app? I can see that hitman pro is already 64-bit while the GUI is still an 32-bit application.
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,659
    Curious why you see that as an issue??
     
  22. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    254
    Build 588 crashed again on my Windows 7 system, to the point where the Notification Area icon disappeared and there is no HMP.A presence in Task Manager.

    Meanwhile, build 588 on my Vista PC had two processes running, each of which Task Manager was showing to be using more than 1,200,000Kb of "private" memory, whatever that means. Together, they seemed to be taking up close to one-third of the 8GB of RAM on that machine.

    From my perspective, 588 is the most problem-riddled build in a long time.

    I can provide crash reports to Erik or Mark on request.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,123
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    After reinstalling Norton Security I've found HMP.A still flogs my CPU after Norton SONAR updates. I was hoping Alert's self-protection might stop this but no. I used to excluded HMP.A from Norton but I'd rather not do this because I suspect this could be the cause of Norton detecting its own files. That's my theory anyway.
     
  24. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    450
    Location:
    italy
    This week in Holland there is an important anniversary so i suppose your silence will continue a bit longer :'(...

    C'on Erik :D
     
  25. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,783
    Yes, as I posted yesterday in the HMP thread just as an information: it is vacation time in The Netherlands. Many folks are on vacation, but I don't know whether Mark and Erik are on vacation. Tomorrow it is King's Day; the King is getting 50. On 4 May it is Remembrance Day; on 5 May Liberation Day. And school-children have vacation.
    Sorry for getting off-topic.
     
Loading...