HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. HempOil

    HempOil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Canada
    I realize that. I posted it because I had not seen it since upgrading from build 586 to 588 of HMP.A.
     
  2. ChillB

    ChillB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    New York
    Novice here.
    Windows 10

    Already own HP. Intend to go with HP.A.
    Do I delete HP and go with a fresh install or leave HP and install HP.A over it?

    Appreciate any advice.
     
  3. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    Hengelo
    Just install HMPA, no need to uninstall anything.
     
  4. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,189
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    That's a good question.

    It is my understanding that the version of HMP that HMPA installs is a portable version. What you have now is likely an installed version.

    Unless you are really very tight for space on your HDD I would leave the installed version.

    Because it is portable I do not believe HMPA would overwrite your installed version.

    Just know that when you call on HMP from the HMPA GUI it would call on the portable version.

    I believe that a possible difference between the two is that the installed version may make a right-click, context HMP scan available. But from what I gather from the HMP thread, not sure if the current installed version currently has that capability.

    You may want to hold off on purchasing your HMPA license. There currently appears to be a problem in Cleverbridge's being able to deliver the HMPA license. I purchased a HMPA license yesterday and I am still waiting for delivery of my license key.

    After clicking on "Buy" my transaction went through but I got this:

    "There will be a slight delay in the delivery of your license key. We are in the process of correcting this technical issue which may include waiting for information from the software publisher..."

    I have sent emails to nasales@sophos.com; support@hitmanpro.com; and support@surfright.com, and have not yet received a response nor my license key.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2017
  5. ChillB

    ChillB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    New York
    Thanks, both, for your replies.
    Much appreciated.
     
  6. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,189
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    NP ChillB :) Welcome to Wilders.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2017
  7. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    italy
    So SurfRight is still alive :eek::
    in the last two weeks, infact, there was already someone talking about the end of a cycle :D (tastati le pelotas, Mark!)
     
  8. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    Hengelo
    There is no such thing as a portable version of HMP or HMPA. They are already extremely small with very little footprint so no need for 'portability'. Unless you refer to running HMP from a flash drive and you do not 'install' (i.e. a copy of that file is made in C:\Program Files\HitmanPro\) the program to the system drive.

    Cleverbridge sold all HMPA 1 PC, 1 Year licenses :) Yay! We supplied a new batch, sorry for the inconvenience. People who bought this license and have not received their product key will receive their key today.
     
  9. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,189
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Thanks @markloman :) Congratz ! Gratifying to learn that HMPA is selling well, as it should be, and happy to hear that Cleverbridge has been re-supplied. Yay! :)
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2017
  10. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    +1 :thumb:
    Good to know, that's a good sign for the future development of the Hitman software line, or
    should be anyway.
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    This is becoming extremely annoying! Two machines were virtually non responsive this morning because HMP.A was consuming just about all of my CPU. Sure, Norton received an update to SONAR and this is the cause but the effect is Alert thrashing my machines.

    It is probably pointless to ask but I will ask it anyway.:

    @erikloman , @markloman ,

    Is there any chance you can develop a fix or improve Alert's self defence?

    Thank you.
     
  12. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,189
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    HMPA License delivered today as promised. Thanks @markloman :)
     
  13. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    770
  14. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,892
    Location:
    USA
    Perhaps it is a recurrence of the problem with Norton Tamper Protection?

    https://community.norton.com/en/forums/norton-security-2015-blocks-hitmanproalert
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    No, Norton isn't blocking Alert, except it will block Alert and any other process from accessing Norton's files. I think it is actually injecting into Alert when SONAR updates which causes Alert to trash my CPU. I can avoid that by excluding Alert in Norton but then I've seen weird occurrences of Norton detecting its own files.

    Basically I think when Alert is excluded in Norton Alert injects itself into Norton causing problems, but when Alert is not excluded Norton injects into Alert causing a different problem.

    If I choose to use both Norton and Alert I can't win. :doubt:
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2017
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,296
    Hi Krusty

    I know your problem and my solution is this. EIS,Appguard, HMPA and SBIE, are must haves on my setup. I do run other stuff, but if that stuff ends up causing a conflict with those 4, then it goes, that simple.

    Pete
     
  17. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,892
    Location:
    USA
    Try excluding Norton in Alert as well.
     
  18. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    833
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    Exact same setup (EIS,Appguard, HMPA and SBIE) no problems.
     
  19. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Despite assurance that it's compatible, EMET is lousy on here with Creators Update--can't get the right-click menu in Internet Explorer, fonts suddenly change, etc. So, reinstalled HMPA, it doesn't have a noticeable impact on anything. Using the Emsisoft on-demand scanner, it's a good one.
     
  20. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    833
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    Nobody mentioned "EMET" recently? :confused:
     
  21. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    I used EMET while running Windows 8.1. :) One month ago, I submitted a ticket to SurfRight regarding an issue where my ISP email page couldn't be accessed via my preferred browser. Silence on the ticket to date, too many uncertainties with SurfRight for me right now, so I checked and EMET 5.5 is supposedly compatible with Windows 10, even though many of its features have already been absorbed. Like many others, I really want an anti-exploit so I thought I would experiment with it in Creators Build. EMET is bad on here, end of story. :'(

    Edit: I see Sophos Home Premium is available now, with some features HMPA also has.
    https://home.sophos.com/support/learn-premium
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2017
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've just had HMP.A crash again.
    Code:
    Log Name:      Application
    Source:        Application Error
    Date:          4/05/2017 8:53:02 AM
    Event ID:      1000
    Task Category: (100)
    Level:         Error
    Keywords:      Classic
    User:          N/A
    Computer:      David-HP
    Description:
    Faulting application name: hmpalert.exe, version: 3.6.4.588, time stamp: 0x58dd0e9d
    Faulting module name: hmpalert.dll, version: 3.6.4.588, time stamp: 0x58dd0e91
    Exception code: 0xc000041d
    Fault offset: 0x0006d270
    Faulting process ID: 0x16ac
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d2c45cb5c00c12
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\HitmanPro.Alert\hmpalert.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\System32\hmpalert.dll
    Report ID: 57d2e981-86d7-4f23-9242-525c2a2858fb
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID:
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
      <System>
        <Provider Name="Application Error" />
        <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
        <Level>2</Level>
        <Task>100</Task>
        <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
        <TimeCreated SystemTime="2017-05-03T22:53:02.370071100Z" />
        <EventRecordID>7086</EventRecordID>
        <Channel>Application</Channel>
        <Computer>David-HP</Computer>
        <Security />
      </System>
      <EventData>
        <Data>hmpalert.exe</Data>
        <Data>3.6.4.588</Data>
        <Data>58dd0e9d</Data>
        <Data>hmpalert.dll</Data>
        <Data>3.6.4.588</Data>
        <Data>58dd0e91</Data>
        <Data>c000041d</Data>
        <Data>0006d270</Data>
        <Data>16ac</Data>
        <Data>01d2c45cb5c00c12</Data>
        <Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\HitmanPro.Alert\hmpalert.exe</Data>
        <Data>C:\Windows\System32\hmpalert.dll</Data>
        <Data>57d2e981-86d7-4f23-9242-525c2a2858fb</Data>
        <Data>
        </Data>
        <Data>
        </Data>
      </EventData>
    </Event>
    I never thought I would say this but with these unanswered posts here and no feedback from the dev's I might just stick to MB 3.1.
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,296
    I just don't see any uncertainties with Surf right. They are just very busy. I have HMPA on a friends machine here and the lastest HMPA is running fine.
     
  24. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    USA
    There seem to be a few folks on this thread and the HitmanPro thread talking about SurfRight being a sinking ship. I think that the previous level of support was way above and beyond, and that what we are experiencing now is par for the software industry in general. Nothing to worry about, it's just change resulting from the Sophos buyout ...
     
  25. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    I don't think this at all; but some disquiet stems from the fact that there are unanswered issues related to HMP and HMPA dating pretty far back. Maybe we're spoiled, right? I linked the Sophos site in above post showing a brand new Home version that contains some features HMPA also has, perhaps this is a clue?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.