HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,271
    Location:
    USA
    No problems here Win 7 x64
     
  2. CeeBee

    CeeBee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Posts:
    54
    When installing the current stable version of HPA on W7 Pro:

    1. What changes are made to W7 and are they all reversed (undone to 100%) on uninstall?
    2. What programs and/or services are started on boot?
    3. What's the approx memory overhead?

    Thanks!
     
  3. HempOil

    HempOil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Canada
    New build running without problems on my machine.
     
  4. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,205
    1. It's just a normal installation:
    a) drivers+dll's are copied to the Windows-directory
    b) the executable is copied to the Program Files-directory.
    c) an autostart-entry for the executable is added.
    And all changes are undone on uninstall.
    2. = 2 drivers and 2 processes
    3. ~20MB (both executables)
     
  5. CeeBee

    CeeBee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Posts:
    54
    Okay, thanks!

    When I last tried HMPA 3.x on my W7 laptop I got a 'yellow' marker in Device Manager for the Teredo Tunneling Interface (under Network Adapters). At that time I reverted to HMPA 2.6.5, which works fine (backed up by all the other stuff I have installed). But, if Teredo is no longer disabled .. I may try HMPA 3.x anew.
     
  6. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,205
    Yes, i see that it was posted Nov. 2015:
    This issue should be fixed, mentioned below.
    You may try 3.5x, there are lot of enhancements/fixes (compared to 2.x)
     
  7. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,453
    HMPA prevents my MP3 player from being recognized by Windows, even when I have "bad USB" disabled, as it is by default
     
  8. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    It seems that almost every time I open HMPA, BadUSB has for some reason been disabled. Why is this? I keep enabling it, and it stays enabled and then some time later I open HMPA and it's disabled again....
     
  9. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,205
    If you enable BadUSB HMP.A should create a registry key:
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\HitmanPro.Alert\BadUSB
    Do you see this key appearing after turning BadUSB on?
    On = BadUSB registry is created
    Off = BadUSB registry key is deleted


    Leave your registry-editor + HMP.A open and look if something has changed in the registry after switching BadUSB on/off.
    And don't forget to refresh the registry-editor after each change in HMP.A.
     
  10. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,253
  11. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    When I enable it the BadUSB key is created and set to On, when I disable BadUSB the key is removed completely. My issue is that it gets set to on, then after some time (days?) it appears to be disabled again. There have been some times that the BadUSB has been disabled and I click to enable it and it gets enabled and then instantly set to disabled again... Not sure what went on there, generally it seems the setting itself is unstable on my system.
     
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,053
    Location:
    USA
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,205
    Ok, i only wanted to make sure that the registry-key can be correctly set/unset by HMP.A.
    This is the case but it seems to be diabled after some time:
    Did it happen with earlier builds too?
    If not, i see one reference to BadUSB in one of the previous changelogs that may have introduced your issue:
     
  14. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    Can't really remember, it has happened a few times before but can't tell on which builds.
     
  15. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    Just got a BSOD from HitmanPro.Alert. Several times now I've gotten a BSOD when ejecting a USB drive. This time the BSOD showed the "DRIVER IRQL NOT LESS THAN OR EQUAL" or something close to that, and hmpalert.sys was responsible.
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    What version of HMP.A?

     
  17. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    Ah 562. It hasn't tried to update so hopefully that fixes it.
     
  18. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,199
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    The stable/release versions are not automatically updated to the beta ones, that is why build 562 wasn't updated to 567.
     
  19. mryoda

    mryoda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Oldenzaal
    Since upgrade to build 567 Beta the windows 10 mail app won't stay open but closes by itself after a few seconds for no apparent reason.

    Never mind, the problem was probably the nvidia driver i installed yesterday, i installed a new one today and all is good.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2016
  20. Poppey

    Poppey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Germany
    I had sometimes also the problem that the windows 10 mail close after 5-10 seconds. The problem was that the firewall blocked HxMail.exe or HxTsr.exe. When you allow it, everything should works fine.
     
  21. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    @erikloman

    After upgrading to Windows 10 Insider Preview 14951, HMP.Alert Build 562 completely screws up all SSL based internet communication on my PC:

    • Firefox and Chrome all fail with various SSL errors when loading https web sites. Sometimes sites appears partially drawn or unformatted.
    • Firefox and Chrome both failed to autoupdate - reporting failed downloads or fatal errors.
    • Web downloads also corrupt and have to be redownloaded several times before a working file is recieved.
    • Windows Update fails when attempting to dowload updates.
    I uninstalled HMP.A and everything returned to normal and that was without a reboot.

    I have tried Build 567 and get exactly the same problem.

    Going to try upgrading to Preview 14955 and see if that improves the situation

    UPDATE: Sadly, no improvement with build 14955 :(
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2016
  22. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    845
    Location:
    USA
    What about trying an actual release version of Windows? Is it really reasonable to expect the developer to test and be compatible with all released versions of Windows, plus all Preview/BETA versions as well? Unless you are testing the application for the dev ... SMH...
     
  23. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,253
    thanks
     
  24. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    No I haven't. As the majority of people here are using the release version, then I would have expected this problem to have already been reported by them as it effectively makes Windows unusable.

    No I don't think it's reasonable to expect the developer to test compatibility with preview versions of windows - I never said it was - which is why my post was merely stating facts and not my opinion on the quality of the software or the support.

    As I'm using the beta version of HMP.A, I am effectively testing the application for the developer,. I'm now simply reporting back my findings to Erik. He can act upon this information or not - it makes no odds to me.

    One thing you also have to realize is, the preview versions of Windows 10 include changes that eventually make it into the next release. So it could be that a change MS have made in the current preview that is effecting HMP.A will also affect it the next release. I'm just giving the developer a heads-up.
     
  25. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,199
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Thanks very much, askmark.
    It will be interesting to see if upgrading to Preview 14955 improves the situation, or whether the developers will have work to do to get HMP.A compatible with new Windows 10 builds.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.