HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,725
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,314
    I am considering a retest. But I have a question.

    Does hitmanpro.alert accomplish what noscript accomplishes in firefox, or is it totally different.

    Would alert replace no script?

    Thanks,

    Pete
     
  3. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Its totally different. Alert warns when browser is compromised by an intruder. Alert doesn't replace No Script or vise versa.
     
  4. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    869
    Location:
    2500'
    Pete, not sure which of your systems you plan to retest but I've loaded and uninstalled hmp.alert three times now on my XP Pro setup and each time it prevented the opening of MBAM Pro's user interface (though the icon was still running in the tray and the app still blocking websites as I recall).

    hmp.alert did appear to work with both Sandboxie and OA,

    Be nice to narrow down where the problem lies at some point if possible.
     
  5. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    We weren't able to reproduce the MBAM opening issue at all. MBAM normally takes ~10 seconds to open. Anyone else having this problem?
     
  6. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    869
    Location:
    2500'
    Erik, I wouldn't be shocked at all if it is some kind of anomaly due to a conflict confined to my specific system. My loss, no doubt.
     
  7. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Been using for a month and all is well. Thanks, Eric! Bravo.
     
  8. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Thanks. Keep an eye on this thread for both a minor and a major feature upgrade :thumb:
     
  9. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,634
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    This is the HitmanPro.Alert thread.
    You are referring to HitmanPro.
    The HitmanPro Support and Discussion Thread, you can find over here.
    Thanks.
     
  10. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,855
    Location:
    Slovakia
    OK, thanks. I did not know about this product, going to check it out. o_O
     
  11. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,634
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    If you are going to try HitmanPro.Alert, perhaps better wait a couple of days, till the new build is issued.
    In the current HitmanPro.Alert build 2.0.10.45 there are still a couple of bugs that should be fixed in the upcoming update.
     
  12. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Just installed Opera 17 and I don't see the HitManPro.Alert green slider. Do you support Opera 17 yet? It does show it's running in memory. Thanks.
     
  13. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Do you have it installed as a default browser or as a portable app?
     
  14. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Default browser.
     
  15. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Do you see the flyout when Internet Explorer starts? At what setting are the Notifications under Alert Settings?
     
  16. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Yes, it works on IE and Chrome. Settings are default, too.
    Opera 17 may be the problem, having trouble with it meshing with Sticky Password Pro, and it's OffRoad setting crashes the browser.
     
  17. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    I can confirm the issue with Opera 17. I'll try to provide a fix in Alert 2.5 BETA which will be out today/tomorrow.
     
  18. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    :thumb: I hope it fixed the multiple pop outs of Internet Explorer when in Enhanced Protected Mode. Also, maybe you could add a tray icon and also turn off the popup?
     
  19. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    I've looked into the Enhanced Protected Mode and solved the problem. It was caused by the AppContainer integrity level not being able to connect to the Alert broker service.

    A tray icon won't be added to Alert 2.5 (it will be in 3.0). The popups can be turned off under Settings (in your case did not work due to the AppContainer issue).
     
  20. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    That's a good news. :D Can't wait to test the beta.
     
  21. Erik,

    Dows HMP Alert still inject all to determine good from bad? Are their other prevention mechanisms used besides nicely found 'running in VM' (to keep VM aware dormant nasties asleep)

    Regards Kees
     
  22. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Thank you!:thumb:
     
  23. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    HitmanPro.Alert 2.5 with CryptoGuard BETA

    Changelog
    • ADDED: CryptoGuard: a universal solution against crypto ransomware.
      More information: www.hitmanpro.com/alert/cryptoguard
    • ADDED: Support for Internet Explorer Enhanced Protected Mode.
    • ADDED: Support for Opera 17

    CryptoGuard
    CryptoGuard is a universal solution against crypto ransomware. This type of ransomware encrypts your personal files and demands a ransom fee to be paid in order to regain access to your files.

    cryptolocker.png

    HitmanPro's CryptoGuard monitors your file system for suspicious operations. When suspicious behavior is detected, the malicious code is neutralized and your files remain safe from harm.
    CryptoGuard works silently in the background at the file system level, keeping track of processes modifying your personal files. CryptoGuard works autonomously, so no user interaction is required.

    CryptoLocker-Alert.png

    More information
    Our website has more information and a demonstration video:
    www.hitmanpro.com/alert/cryptoguard

    Please uninstall any existing version of HitmanPro.Alert before trying this beta version.

    Please let me know what you think of this new feature :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013
  24. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,582
    Location:
    USA
    Looks great! Can this be installed "over the top" or should we uninstall the previous version first?
     
  25. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Uninstall the existing version. Then install this version 2.5.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Umbra
    Replies:
    22
    Views:
    1,890