HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    Outer space
    Officially released:

    Whole press release:
    http://www.surfright.nl/en/home/press/SurfRight-releases-HitmanPro-Alert-2
     
  2. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    New features are coming

    Now that we have released version 2.0.8, I want to thank all of you in this thread for helping to get it as far as it is now.

    But we are not stopping here. We have just begun with Alert and a lot more technical features (and some fixes) are coming in the very near future. Expect a new Beta very soon.

    I cannot elaborate on which feature just yet (most of them are already done and sit nicely in our source control system) but you'll find out soon enough.

    Again, thanks to all here at Wilders Security Forum. Watch this thread for Alert feature updates.
     
  3. SpeedyPC

    SpeedyPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    The Land of OZ (Australia)
  4. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    If you reboot the computer, do you then have flyouts again?
     
  5. SpeedyPC

    SpeedyPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    The Land of OZ (Australia)
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2013
  6. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Please uninstall, reboot and install again. Maybe the driver isn't running.
     
  7. SpeedyPC

    SpeedyPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    The Land of OZ (Australia)
    I have done it twice no green flyout showing in the browser, I saw the black flyout during the installation that all

    Outpost FW Screenshot Log
    http://my.jetscreenshot.com/18514/20130704-jr7e-34kb.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2013
  8. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Which browser are you using? Perhaps a portable version?
     
  9. SpeedyPC

    SpeedyPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    The Land of OZ (Australia)
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2013
  10. Re: New features are coming

    :cautious: Last clifhanger took months before it was really released. Great product, not complaning, just curious what your definition of soon is (1-4 months, 1-4 weeks)?
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Hi,

    I use DefenseWall. Will HitmanPro.Alert conflict with it? Can I use the two smoothly? Will the duo form a double protection?

    Best Wishes,
    Amit
     
  12. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Re: New features are coming

    1-3 weeks.
     
  13. heikwith

    heikwith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Posts:
    91
    Hi Erik,
    I am using here HMA v208 in Avant Browser Ultimate 2013v12.5.00#108.
    At startup of Avant I do not see any green flyouts.
    But at shutdown I get 2 or more green flyouts.
    They disappear so fast that I can not count them.
    When you can not simulate this, ask me for more info.
    My system is Vista and all other starting browsers I get green flyouts
    Dik
     
  14. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    We havent tested with Avant Browser yet. Looks interesting. We will have a look on Monday.
     
  15. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
  16. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,545
    installer hash info please :(
     
  17. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    The software has Authenticode signature. Use it to verify integrity of the file.
     
  18. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,036
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    HitmanPro.Alert Thunderbird issue

    Hi Erik,
    to add an extra layer of security, I installed HMP.Alert.

    But when I open Thunderbird (17.0.7) I get an intrusion alert (Eindringlingsalarm).
    I scanned with HitManPro, Malwarebytes and Microsoft Offline Defender, booted from USB.
    Non of the scanners reported an infection.

    I'm running WIN7-64-Ultimate, with a valid licence and fully patched,
    Bitdefender free antivirus, no other security software, no tuning tools, no registry modifications.

    To exclude interference, I disabled all add-ons, plugins and dictionaries in Thunderbird, but the alert still shows up, when starting Thunderbird.


    Any suggestion?

    Heinz


    All disabled:
    http://abload.de/img/hmpalert8ystd.png

    http://abload.de/img/add-ons3rssl.png

    http://abload.de/img/dictionariesgpsbd.png

    http://abload.de/img/pluginsufson.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
  19. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    USA
    Re: HitmanPro.Alert Thunderbird issue

    @Erik

    Here's what I've encountered with HMP.Alert 2.0.8 when attempting to use it with Firefox and Sandboxie 3.76 on my XP SP3 machine.

    When you install Sandboxie, you're given the option to put a Sandboxie shortcut (to your default browser, which in my case is Firefox) on your desktop. That particular shortcut does not seem to be compatible with with HMP.Alert.

    I've tried it three different times and the result is always the same for me. After HMP.Alert has been installed, that Sandboxie icon will no longer launch Firefox at all -- it's totally dead. The only way to to fix it is to uninstall HMP.Alert and reboot. But that's been a challenge, too, because each time my internet connectivity has temporarily destroyed - can't logon to the internet at all. To fix this, I've had to reboot at least 4-5 times before things even started getting back to normal - and each time I was just hoping that another reboot would get me back to normal. Each time, this was a little scary, but I did recover.

    Anyway, that's my story. Don't know if anyone else has experienced anything similar, but for now, I've had to abandon HMP.Alert.
     
  20. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Is this a plugin/extension?
     
  21. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    No. It works for all (browser) applications.
     
  22. SpeedyPC

    SpeedyPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    The Land of OZ (Australia)
    Not really because I'm unable to track down the problem, I've exclusions all three files into Avast Free AV and Outpost Pro are if I'm correct see below and I'm still not seeing the green flyout message.

    1. C:\Program Files (x86)\HitmanPro.Alert\hmpalert.exe
    2. C:\Windows\System32\hmpalert.dll
    3. C:\Windows\SysWOW64\hmpalert.dll
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
  23. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Re: HitmanPro.Alert Thunderbird issue

    I've found the problem with Sandboxie 3.76 and already made a fix. Expect an update next week.

    Thanks for your thorough report :thumb:
     
  24. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    I absolutely love using HitmanPro.Alert

    Thanks for a wonderful product :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
  25. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.