HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    What is the name of that process?
     
  2. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,031
    Sent you a mail with eventlog.
     
  3. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Got it, thanks!
     
  4. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,031
    Edit: I guess: Application C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\jre-8u31-windows-au.exe and/or Filename C:\Users\****\AppData\LocalLow\Sun\Java\AU\LZMA_EXE
     
  5. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,031
    Received new beta by mail. I will uninstall java 8u31 and reinstall java 8u25. And then update to 8u31 with beta 140.
     
  6. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,031
    Uninstalled java 8u31 and tried several times to (re)install 8u25 with no luck (W7 64 bits/build 139). See jpg for java-udpate-error. So I cant test build 140 and internal update 8u31. Could someone else test it?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Please try the following steps:
    1. Uninstall Alert
    2. Uninstall Java
    3. Install Java 8u25
    4. Install Alert build 140
    5. Update Java via the Check for Update application (came with Java)
     
  8. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,031
    Solved. After uninstalling java AND Hmp.Alert and then reinstalling java 8u25 and build 140 the internal update 8u31 finally works. Thanks Erik.
     
  9. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Thank you for your time helping to solve this issue :thumb:
     
  10. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    HitmanPro.Alert 3.0.24 Build 140 Release Candidate

    Changelog
    • Improved mitigation of Java applications
    • Improved ROP mitigation (solved false positives)
    Download
    http://test.hitmanpro.com/hmpalert3b140.exe

    Please let me know how this version runs on your computer :thumb:
     
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    As a test have you considered uninstalling EMET to see if it solves the Firefox hanging process problem? I occasionally have a problem when starting Firefox 35 where the window doesn't display and I have to kill the process and restart, but shutting down is consistently clean (note that I don't use EMET or any other exploit mitigation software along with HMPA).
     
  12. Cactus5

    Cactus5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Southwest USA
    Just installed build 140 on both laptops, rebooted. the windows media player ROP alert is fixed. Nice work! The encrypted characters still show up in the address bar of both IE11 with enhanced protection mode and Chrome x64 while keystroke encryption is enabled.
     
  13. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,325
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    No problems here. :thumb:
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    :thumb: Build 140 looks to of solved all issues I've had with previous builds.

    Nice work! :cool:

    Thanks.
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Looking good here also.
     
  16. FOXP2

    FOXP2 Guest

    I'd like to see user options to disable that and startup with Windows. (Firewall and service manipulation is tedious.)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2015
  17. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,115
    Again gibberish with build 140; this time in IE11.

    (however IE11 is very unstable on my system)
     
  18. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    1,240
    Yes, but I like to see what apps are connecting out. More user options would be good though.
     
  19. 93036

    93036 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    108
    Fix the WMP errors I had reported; thanks!

     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    @erikloman

    I noticed that every time an alert has been triggered an encrypted message is sent to http://alertcloud.azurewebsites.net/Report.ashx.
    Might it be an idea to create an opt-out so no data will be sent without user interaction?

    I assume that some users would like to have control over this feature.
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    @erikloman ,

    One quick question - I reset HMP.A 3 build 140's setting and when I plugged in a wireless keyboard receiver I wasn't prompted to allow it. It had previously been allowed with older builds but I thought resetting the settings would of made HMP.A forget it. Is this expected behaviour?

    Thanks,
    Krusty
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2015
  22. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    Why aren't the RCs automatically updating to the latest version? Will RCs update to the final stable version when it comes out?
     
  23. FOXP2

    FOXP2 Guest

    Two of the applications, both portable, that were OK in b139 and the previous build (137, I think) are now not protected after upgrading to b140. No flyout, no colored border. "Re-mitigations," restarts, reboot, no fix.

    HMPAqt.jpg
     
  24. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Have you performed a Reset Settings? (That clears the apps)
    Do you see the apps listed under HKLM\Software\HitmanPro.Alert ?
     
  25. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    The Reset Settings currently does not reset the BadUSB allowed devices. Good point.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.