Hitman Pro Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by yashau, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    582
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    i've never heard of hitmanpro's flagging cookies? that seems odd. what about cookies that i want to keep?
     
  2. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,458
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Far as I know, for privacy's sake, HitmanPro will detect notorious tracking cookies only--like scorecard research and whatnot.

    Never have I seen it flag session or first party ones. You can disable the cookie detection in the Settings if you want.
     
  3. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,458
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Got that automatic update to build 324 v. 3.8.28 only now. I see it was first announced January 12th. Better late than never, I guess. :)
     
  4. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    429
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Correct only tracking cookies are listed for removal
     
  5. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,458
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hello--false positive report here. Set to "ignore" in Quarantine--OSArmor License Manager.
    hmplog.PNG

    Edit: it seems the Lic. Manager folder was modified today. So it's very new.
     
  6. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,458
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Update: the false positive (NVT License Manager) is no longer there and Quarantine is empty. Thanks for the prompt attention!
     
  7. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    812
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations/Greetings,
    Are there any conflicts with SandBoxie Plus with Hitman Pro or other Antiviruses?
    And do you have a Removal Tools for Hitman Pro?
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2022
  8. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,458
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Initiated the scan and then went into a game with the scanner still running. When I exited, this is what the UI looked like.

    hmp scan.PNG

    This has happened before but don't recall the exact circumstances. I just repeated the above result by re-starting the scan and then going into the same game. Don't know how significant this is so thought I would mention it (the game has older graphics; it's not a recent game at all). If more detail is needed, pls. let me know.

    Edit: I run Sandboxie Plus and HitmanPro both; they're great, no issues with respect to having both on the system and I wouldn't expect this at any time, anyway. :)
     
  9. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    266
    Both programmes are the most recent. In theory, are they the same, or what is the difference?

    2022-04-02_134117.jpg
    csatoljaFull272064
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,190
    I found this on Reddit.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/antivirus/comments/tm2hrr/sophos_scan_clean/
    I'm glad I saw your post, as I didn't know about Scan & Clean. It's nice to have a free version of HMP.
     
  11. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,825
    Location:
    USA
    Exactly! I didn't know about Sophos Scan & Clean, but it's on my machine now, and a quick scan found a suspicious file that I decided to delete. Nice tool. :thumb: Thank you.
     
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,003
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2022
  13. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    829
    They probably use the same engine but they only use Sophos signatures for detection in Scan & Clean. Plus, there's no EWS scan there.
     
  14. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,162
    Sophos Scan & Clean seems to be a stripped down version of Hitman Pro, but I think it will be good enough for most users.
     
  15. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    you can still do EWS with commandline in Sophos Scan & "Cleanscanandclean.exe" /ews
     
  16. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,825
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone set the HitmanPro default scan mode to EWS?
     
  17. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,458
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Yes, I did and am switching it back. Picked up a lot of harmless stuff. Ignorance can be bliss at times.

    hmp ews.PNG

    Would this EWS setting enable better detection of non-.exe, like scripts and whatnot? On the other forum, this was a valid point brought up: that HitmanPro on default only really picks up .exe and that's no longer a prime means of infection. On the other hand, you're potentially combing thru a lot of stuff that may be benign. It's a major judgement call, it seems.
     
  18. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,825
    Location:
    USA
    Which makes me a very blissful person! :) I seldom run EWS scans... like maybe once or twice in all the years I have had HMP on my machines. I did run EWS scan just a few minutes ago and no files were identified, benign or otherwise. I was actually surprised that my results did not look more like the 34 items found when you ran it.
     
  19. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,542
    Location:
    Paris
    It does not. For whatever reason HMP (and MB) are incapable of detection of various scriptors. For giggles I just infected a Win11 64bit system with 5 different vbs malware files, all of which were persistent on reboot, and all were over 3 years old (certainly NOT zero-day!). As a control I put an Xdata ransomware file on the Desktop.

    I then rebooted the system, verifiedon System start that I was thoroughly infected by the Scriptors and ran a HMP scan. It found the Xdata file and that was it (did not remove it). I then enabled EWS and ran another scan. Once again on only malicious item found was the Xdata file sitting on the desktop, but also detected were over 200 'Unknown" items (Windows files) with the suggestion to Ignore.

    In short, HMP (and MB) are "feel good" applications that really will not allow one to determine if a system is actually infected, and enabling EWS is beyond pointless.

    m
     
  20. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,458
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thank you for your valuable reply, cruelsister. This is definitely food for thought....
     
  21. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,162
    Which tool do you recommend instead?
     
  22. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,542
    Location:
    Paris
    Without any doubt, Kaspersky Virus Removal Tool. The choice may not be currently Politically Correct, but neither am I.
     
  23. Libraman

    Libraman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    127
    Excellent tool :thumb:
     
  24. Stelica

    Stelica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Romania
    I Use EEK. Kaspersky will never be on my computer!
     
  25. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,458
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I would be inclined to think, then, that Sophos Scan and Clean would have the same shortcomings, script-detection-wise, as HitmanPro?

    Still reviewing other options here. I like Norton Power Eraser but that's more much prone to false positives. Already, it flagged the latest HiBit and NVT License Manager .exes and I kinda dislike having a UI cluttered with things I know aren't malicious, just brand-new. I dunno. Guess I will let it simmer a bit as it's not urgent, just disappointing.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.