Hitman Pro Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by yashau, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. Libraman

    Libraman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    50
  2. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,063
    Thank you.:thumb:
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,355
    While it's currently detected by 22 scanners at VirusTotal, 20 of the detection are generic or heuristic. This indicates to me, that it is highly likely it's a false positive.
     
  4. Libraman

    Libraman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    50
    Hi again.
    I think that it's not dangerous (I have used in the past without problem) but it has something if these antivirus says that.
    It's my opinion, that all.
    ;)
     
  5. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,316
    Location:
    .
    Code:
    falsepositives@symantec.com
    6:03 AM (8 hours ago)
    to me
    In relation to submission 160613.
    Upon further analysis and investigation we have verified your submission and, as such, the detection(s) for the following file(s) will be removed from our products:
    File name: FixWin 10.1.exe
    MD5: F5789206BA7071065B2CA2E7E26753AC
    SHA256: C1FEB6DF92AE06E05DA1B99151584FA78DA45C540ACCAB7E0BD3CBECB2C1CCBC
    Note: Whitelisting may take up to 24 hours to take effect via Live Update
    Sincerely,
    Symantec Security Response
     
  6. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,355
    It a false positive. It's no longer detected by Avast and I'm sure that in the coming days, fewer scanners will detect it.
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,355
    It's now only detected by 12 scanners, rather than 22. I'm 100% certain that it is a false positive.
     
  8. Libraman

    Libraman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    50
    :thumb:
     
  9. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    HitmanPro build 310

    Changelog

    • ADDED: Black certificate serial support to remnants
    • ADDED: Sophos AV icon to SurfRight vendor
    • ADDED: HitmanPro icon to HitmanPro vendor
    • FIXED: Freezing problem on Windows 10 while HitmanPro was scanning
    • FIXED: Rare BSOD in HitmanPro driver
    • FIXED: Blacklisted DNS lookups
    • IMPROVED: Hardening of HitmanPro driver
    Attached is a detection of the new Black Serial for MegaCortex
    "Program is code signed with a known fraudulent certificate"

    Download

    32-bit https://dl.surfright.nl/HitmanPro.exe
    64-bit https://dl.surfright.nl/HitmanPro_x64.exe
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 2, 2019 at 10:26 AM
  10. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    801
    No problems with version 310.

    Win10 1909 build 18363.476 x64/Norton Security v22.19.9.63
     
  11. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    889
    Caught by HitmanPro.Alert (CTP3)'s CredGuard... (and then offered to scan itself...)
     
  12. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,690
    Location:
    Hawaii
    What does this have to do with the new build to HitmanPro? Your comment is very unclear.


    @RonnyT -- thanks for the heads-up!!! HMP build 310 is working great for me.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2019 at 4:09 PM
  13. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,258
    Location:
    Outer space
    I didn't get an alert here, also running CTP3, and Credential Theft Protection is enabled.
     
  14. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Auto-updated to 3.8.16, build 310. Nice and fast. Glad to have it back on my system. :thumb:
     
  15. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,690
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I'm confused. HitmanPro and HitmanPro.Alert are on two different threads. This thread is for Hitman Pro. Why are you posting HitmanPro.Alert results on this thread?

    The thread for Hitman Pro.Alert is over THERE.
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,163
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Well, not quite. The CTP3 (beta) thread is here. I understand that @XIII posted their results here to alert the developers.
     
  17. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    889
    That new build of HitmanPro is intercepted by HitmanPro.Alert...

    Since I don't know whether it's an issue in HMP or HMP.A I posted it here.
     
  18. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    801
    Same here. No problems with build 310 and CTP3.
     
  19. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,690
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thank you for the info. I understand now. Odd situation -- the big brother AV tattles on his little brother AV. Sibling rivalry? Hmmmm... :cautious:
     
  20. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    whoo, this is gonna be a looong scan, relatively. Got the latest Insider 19035.1000, lots of new stuff. Just thought I'd share. Note: the scan typically takes about 50 seconds. It's currently at 8 minutes 22 seconds and has 233 more things to upload. :)

    hmpnew insider.PNG
     
  21. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Wonderland
    Scans with the latest version take longer here on 1909 as well.
     
  22. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,690
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I *guess* you are talking about something unique to Win10. If so, please make that fact clear in your posts. There are still a lot of people who do NOT use Win10.
     
  23. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I respect that, bellgamin. Currently, this is Windows v. 2004, which is slated to arrive in the Spring of 2020. It's in my signature.

    Thanks for confirming, Bertazzone. :thumb:
     
  24. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    764
    Location:
    USA
    Just updated to Build 310 here on Windows 10 1809.

    Total scan time for me is about the same today, at 3m 47s.
     
  25. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,690
    Location:
    Hawaii
    10Q to the nth!!! I appreciate your help. Thanks!
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.