Hitman Pro Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by yashau, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    115
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Updated to 304 v. 3.8.14. Scan time decreased to about 35 seconds from 1 min 10 sec or so. I thought it was because I upgraded my ssd (92% free space). Nice if HMP also optimized its scan. :)
     
  2. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,445
    Location:
    Hawaii
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,743
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Man, clean install of Windows and now we have to give an email address just to download this program. :thumbd:

    Also applies to HMP.A.

    Enjoy the email address I used Sophos / SurfRight. :argh:
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,445
    Location:
    Hawaii
    What next? DNA samples? :confused:
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,743
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yeah, my thoughts exactly.
     
  6. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,046
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Yes, I don't like it a bit, either.
    However, direct download links are still in RonnyT's posts.
    For HMP (the links have http instead of https, but you can correct that for yourself before downloading).
    For HMPA (less recent post, but the download URL is still good).
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,792
    Now we have to give a fake email address.

    +1 :argh:
     
  8. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    144
    @RonnyT

    I was forced to stop in the task manager after 1 hour. The older versions could neither remove these programs properly. Please, you fix the problem. Thank you!

    2019-06-14_082646.jpg
     
  9. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    Planet Earth
  10. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    USA
    Auto updated this morning. No problems. Thanks!
     
  11. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    769
    No problems updating build 306.

    Win10 1809 build 18362.175 x64/Norton Security v22.17.2.47
     
  12. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    943
    Got it via auto-update. Thank you.:thumb:
     
  13. enemyofarsenic

    enemyofarsenic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    79
    scan stalling anyone?
     
  14. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    434
    Location:
    England
    Updated and scanned successfully - no stalling here.
     
  15. Sir Percy

    Sir Percy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Posts:
    241
    Yes, i see this as well and the scan takes double the time of the previous build, not a bit problem though. I use W10 Pro 1903 so maybe this is why?
     
  16. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,478
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    No issues with automatic update and execution of build 306; it did take a lot longer, but only I think because of scanning some less-used portable softs ...
     
  17. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    943
    Scan time before the update: approx. 60 seconds
    Scan time after the update: approx. 90 seconds

    It does take a little bit longer to scan my machine, but it's really not worth mentioning here. Maybe scan time can be improved with one of the next updates.

    PS: I've just re-scanned my computer. New scan time: 58 seconds (as before)
     

    Attached Files:

    • HMP.png
      HMP.png
      File size:
      11.7 KB
      Views:
      7
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,731
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    What engines is HMP using these days for detections?
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,792
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,203
    Location:
    .
  21. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    144
    Erik Loman says (see above (https://malwaretips.com/threads/what-are-hitmanpro-engines.65379/#post-563601)) :

    Kaspersky, Bitdefender, Sophos and HitmanPro forensic engine

    VS

    markloman says (see above (https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/how-is-herdprotect-doing-it.374702/#post-2474784))

    Apparently there is a big misunderstanding on how HitmanPro works. HitmanPro does not require antivirus engines or virus signatures to catch threats.

    I don't understand, is there a engine or no engine now?
     
  22. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    144
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.