Hitman Pro Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by yashau, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,245
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I am running a licensed version of HitmanPro 3.8.0 build 295 (64 bit). When I click Settings, then click the Scan tab, there is a checkbox "Show 'Scan with HitmanPro' for files and folders in Windows Explorer".

    For some reason, that checkbox is grayed out -- I can't select it. Does anyone know why this is so?
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2018
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,345
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Have you only just downloaded it? I see that when I first download HMP (fresh install) and after I scan and close HMP I can then enable that check box.

    Otherwise no idea, sorry.
     
  3. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,245
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Based on your comments, I re-downloaded & re-installed. Then looked -- no joy, the box still was grayed-out. Shut down HMP. Ran it again. Scanned. The box opened. I checked it. Fixed the problem! However, it sure is a mickey mouse app from that standpoint. Also, HMP's support at HERE is nothing but a series of 10 questions with answers. No link for human contact -- if your problem isn't covered by 1 of the 10 questions/answers, it's evidently the end of the support road. Sheesh. :thumbd:
     
  4. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,024
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    After running a first HMP scan, there is the question "Would you like to store a copy of the HitmanPro program file on this computer?" Only after confirming, HMP is installed and the "Show 'Scan with HitmanPro' for files and folders in Windows Explorer" option is available.

    The support e-mail address is in 3 of the 11 answers in the FAQ.
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,245
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Got it --- thanks!

    In order to get the email address, I had to click a "+" so as to obtain an answer to an inapplicable question. That answer mentioned the email address of support. Goood grief!
     
  6. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,024
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    True. I suppose it is Sophos way to filter support requests and relieve support. I don't think it's an elegant way to do so.
     
  7. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    131

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2018
  8. heikwith

    heikwith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Posts:
    79
    I have found AGAIN a false positive with HMP a build 295 for svchost.exe in my w10 1809 system (oct 2018 upd)
    Why was that not found in de tests earlier ?
    Edit: there is also a svchost.exe in sysWOW64, but is only reported for the system32 version !!
    Both have version 10.0.17763.1 but are of course different
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2018
  9. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    131
  10. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    131

    Attached Files:

  11. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    That is to be expected, your the first to run it so there is no classification for the file, and because the software developer has not code-signed the program this happens.
    If you scan it again it should no longer show up.
     
  12. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    131
    Unfortunately not.

    2018-10-13_071311.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  13. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,151
    Location:
    .
    3937.png
    Classifying runs too long?
     
  14. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    We had an issue with our US cloud infra, if all is well this should be resolved.
     
  15. Hijin25

    Hijin25 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    México
    Captura.JPG

    Do you think this is normal?

    classifying (101%) ...
     
  16. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Hi Hijin25,

    Yes sometimes that happens when remnant, finds stuff to investigate the counter sometimes overshoots 100%
    Nothing to worry about just a GUI nuisance
     
  17. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    740
    Same fp as Hmp.Alert Pro build 767?

    Code:
    HitmanPro 3.8.0.295
    www.hitmanpro.com
    
       Computer name . . . . :****
       Windows . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.17763.X64/8
       User name . . . . . . : ****
       UAC . . . . . . . . . : Enabled
       License . . . . . . . : Paid (666 days left)
    
       Scan date . . . . . . : 2018-11-05 17:42:19
       Scan mode . . . . . . : Normal
       Scan duration . . . . : 3m 26s
       Disk access mode  . . : Direct disk access (SRB)
       Cloud . . . . . . . . : Internet
       Reboot  . . . . . . . : Yes
    
       Threats . . . . . . . : 1
       Traces  . . . . . . . : 5
    
       Objects scanned . . . : 1.653.159
       Files scanned . . . . : 46.399
       Remnants scanned  . . : 351.204 files / 1.255.556 keys
    
    Miniport ____________________________________________________________________
    
       Primary
          DriverObject . . . : FFFFBA05F8544820
          DriverName . . . . : \Driver\iaStorA
          DriverPath . . . . : \SystemRoot\System32\drivers\iaStorA.sys
          StartIo  . . . . . : 0000000000000000 +0
          IRP_MJ_SCSI  . . . : FFFFF80393D4CB80 \??\C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\hmpalert.sys+183168
       Solution
          DriverObject . . . : FFFFBA05F8544820
          DriverName . . . . : \Driver\iaStorA
          DriverPath . . . . : \SystemRoot\System32\drivers\iaStorA.sys
          StartIo  . . . . . : 0000000000000000 +0
          IRP_MJ_SCSI  . . . : FFFFF803932E6560 \SystemRoot\System32\drivers\storport.sys+25952
    
    Malware _____________________________________________________________________
    
       C:\Program Files (x86)\Hewlett-Packard\HP Support Framework\HPSF.exe -> Quarantined
          Size . . . . . . . : 1.459.056 bytes
          Age  . . . . . . . : 1213.5 days (2015-07-11 05:53:26)
          Entropy  . . . . . : 4.6
          SHA-256  . . . . . : F8638AE642CA4EE4A408E4D52E3E1C52D87423EE8E533BF1795A47303E1F9215
          Product  . . . . . : HP Support Assistant
          Publisher  . . . . : HP Inc.
          Description  . . . : HP Support Assistant
          Version  . . . . . : 8.6.18.11
          RSA Key Size . . . : 2048
          LanguageID . . . . : 0
          Authenticode . . . : Valid
        > Bitdefender  . . . : Gen:Variant.Ulise.1616
          Fuzzy  . . . . . . : 83.0
          Startup
             C:\WINDOWS\system32\Tasks\Hewlett-Packard\HP Support Assistant\HP Support Assistant Quick Start
             C:\WINDOWS\system32\Tasks\Hewlett-Packard\HP Support Assistant\PC Health Analysis
             C:\WINDOWS\system32\Tasks\Hewlett-Packard\HP Support Assistant\PC Health Analysis Restart
          References
             C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\HP Help and Support\HP Support Assistant.lnk
    
    
    
    
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2018
  18. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    11,452
    Both products (HitmanPro / HMP.A) are accessing the same cloud.
    = If the "Real-time Antimalware Protection"-feature of HMP.A is detecting something (red flyout), you'll high likely see the same detection in HitmanPro.
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,647
    FP =
     
  20. Nevi

    Nevi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    I bought Hitman Pro yesteday. I have seen the newest version is 3.9.0 Mine is 3.8.0 version build 295. Does anyone know where I can download the newest version, or am I wrong?
    Thanks.
     
  21. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,379
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Maybe there is a v3.9.0 but FWIW v3.8.0 build 295 is the version that runs out of latest HMPA v3.7.9 build 769 RC4.
     
  22. Nevi

    Nevi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Thanks paulderdash.
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,647
  24. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,024
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Hi Nevi,
    Out of curiosity, may I ask, where did you see a new version 3.9.0 mentioned?
    As mentioned by paulderdash and anon, 3.8.0.295 looks to be the latest version.
    The download from the website still offers 3.8.0.295, and the installed program on my system is also 3.8.0.295 and does not auto-update to a new version.
     
  25. Nevi

    Nevi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Yes I have reached the same conclusion. I think somebody made a mistake and thought there was a newer version.
    Thanks for the answer.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.