Hitman Pro Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by yashau, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,986
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    To my knowledge, HMP scan only scans the system drive, and there is no setting to scan other drives, except for the context menu scan option.
    If there would be some other option, I hope @erikloman, @markloman, or @RonnyT can tell.
     
  2. Jerry Lin

    Jerry Lin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    China, Fujian
    Hello,

    now the product shows upload failed again.
     
  3. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,106
    Location:
    .
    2856.png 2857.png 2858.png
     
  4. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    426
    Location:
    England
    Also seeing "upload failed" here. [v 3.8.0 Build 292]
     
  5. Hijin25

    Hijin25 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    México
    Again it is trying to load the em023_64.dll file belonging to eset to the cloud and the load fails.
     
  6. ronald739

    ronald739 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Australia
    Also having issues with "Upload failed".

    HitmanPro.PNG
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,586
    "upload failed"...….
     
  8. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    123
    "Also having issues with "Upload failed"." Me too. May be server problem.
     
  9. Oli95xz

    Oli95xz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Germany
    +1 on "Upload failed"
     
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,586
    Seems that "upload failed" problem fixed.
     
  11. Hijin25

    Hijin25 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    México
    Sorry for the inconvenience, I just run an analysis of my team and this detection appears:

    Properties
    Name events.dat-shm
    Location C:\ProgramData\NVIDIA Corporation\NvTelemetry
    Size 32.0 KB
    Time 0.2 days ago (2018-05-22 18:07:2)
    Entropy 5.0
    Product Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
    Publisher Microsoft Corporation
    Description Microsoft RDP Bus Device driver
    Version 6.1.7600.16385
    Copyright © Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    LanguageID 1033
    SHA-256 DE124041321C932900E9D6BE612D46E587CF8CEC19D4B813BB93777D59880C43

    Scoring (52.0)
    The file is hidden from Windows API. This is typical for malware.
    The file is completely hidden from view and most antivirus products. It may belong to a rootkit.
    The file name extension of this program is not common.
    Program is running but currently exposes no human-computer interface (GUI).
    Time indicates that the file appeared recently on this computer.
    The file is in use by one or more active processes.
    The file is a device driver. Device drivers run as trusted (highly privileged) code.

    Forensic Cluster
    -1.5s C:\Windows\System32\LogFiles\WMI\RtBackup\EtwRTDiagtrack-Listener.etl
    0.0s C:\ProgramData\NVIDIA Corporation\NvTelemetry\events.dat-wal
    * C:\ProgramData\NVIDIA Corporation\NvTelemetry\events.dat-shm
    1.8s C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Crypto\RSA\S-1-5-18\1ec2fda037fc8dffac469070b8e25db3_8aeec33f-295c-4dd2-9b30-a62ab1bb04c4


    Is it a false positive or a real threat?

    He had never given me this alert before.

    Thanks in advance for any clarification.
     
  12. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    734
    Same here.
     
  13. Jerry Lin

    Jerry Lin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    China, Fujian
    Sorry, but the real-time antimalware of HitmanPro Alert does not work at all now. Please Check! Thanks!
     
  14. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Hi Jerry,

    The first issue is not a security issue, the detected file events.dat-shm is a file that only lives very short on disk, so it was selected for later inspection and when the scan was at the point that it would like to do detailed analysis the file is already gone. https://www.sqlite.org/tempfiles.html has more details on the shm (shared memory file).

    The second one, I assume your Anti-Malware shows that the cloud is offline?
    What happens if you reboot? is it still offline? if that doesn't work can you start at least 3 applications that you haven't started since computer boot, e.g. calc.exe, eventvwr.exe, notepad.exe and check again?
    Please close the HMP.A GUI before checking if the status has changed, sometimes it doesn't refresh as expected.
     
  15. HempOil

    HempOil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    130
    Location:
    Canada
    I just fired up HMP 3.8.0 Build 292 and it seamlessly upgraded to Build 294. I then executed all three scan types (Default, Quick and EWS) and no issues were encountered.
     
  16. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    HitmanPro build 294

    Changelog
    • FIXED: Uninstall of older HitmanPro version after upgrading to 3.8
    • FIXED: Scheduled Scan if user has no administrative rights
    • FIXED: False Positive on certain Microsoft files
    • FIXED: Force Breach not working on Windows 10
    • FIXED: Detecting PUPs as malware on certain files
    • FIXED: Potential DLL hijacking vulnerability
    • IMPROVED: Detection of Potentially Unwanted Programs (PUPs/PUAs)
    • INFO: Several minor fixes and improvements
    Download
    32-bit https://dl.surfright.nl/HitmanPro.exe
    64-bit https://dl.surfright.nl/HitmanPro_x64.exe
     
  17. HempOil

    HempOil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    130
    Location:
    Canada
    I apologize if I let the cat out of the bag ;)
     
  18. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    701
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Thanks, folks for posting - mine updated automatically and only 3.8 shows now - all seems corrected.
     
  19. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,862
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Last edited: May 29, 2018
  20. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    734
    Hmp Pro 294 updated automatically, no problems running a scan.
     
  21. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    USA
    If you don't get the auto-update (I disabled mine), the download link provided by RonnyT works fine.
     
  22. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,240
    Location:
    USA
    Updated and working good here (W7 x64).
     
  23. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    2 ways either you have HitmanPro installed and Alert will use that, or Alert will download a fresh copy of the server and will start that.
     
  24. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,862
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    @RonnyT

    Thanks :)
     
  25. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    291
    Location:
    Netherlands
    W7x64, update to build 294 went automatic, no issues what so ever!
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.