Hitman Pro Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by yashau, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,695
    Location:
    USA
    Well, actually I think there was a need... hope you don't mind.
    When Triple Helix and trjam post that we should just buy your software, I feel compelled to point out that the free 30-day license is something that is a part of the program.
    So I'm responding to them.
     
  2. carat

    carat Guest

    Where is the lifetime licence? :thumb:
     
  3. Criss

    Criss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    Anyone with the same problem with me? I am unable to auto update my hitman pro. Still build 126 here.
     
  4. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Auto updated a couple of hours ago without a glitch here.

    It needs to run with admin privileges in order to update, or your problem could be firewall related.
     
  5. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    793
    The answer is "Yes".
     
  6. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA

    I would buy HMP right now if they had a lifetime license option. Even if it were at a premium, say $59, I would buy it. I imagine that we are not alone on that, and Surfright / HMP is actually LOSING $ by not offering its users this option.............Come on HMP, smell the roses!:blink:
     
  7. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    A company with a long-term strategy to survive and continue providing top-notch detection and removal of malware would never offer a lifetime deal. Simple as that.
     
  8. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    MBAM is doing just fine thank you.
     
  9. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    They've been in the market for three years. Do you call that a long time? Because I don't. :)
     
  10. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    It's long enough, and they have $30 from me that has helped them grow................ Meanwhile HMP has exactly $0.00 from me to help them grow.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Oh they smell them, every morning. Now let me let you in on a piece of info, most just dont know. Hitman Pro is currently the best selling on demand, security software on the market.:D

    Now those are some sweet selling roses.:thumb:
     
  12. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Think how much more of a market share they would have with a lifetime license!:D
     
  13. Sir Percy

    Sir Percy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Posts:
    266
    But not for long. ;)

    Lifetime licenses is not the wisest decision because most apps only have so many potential customers and if you already gave them a lifetime deal.....puff, gone from one day to the other like so many others before them or sold off for "dismantling". You can only get so many customers as MBAM, SAS etc claim to have because you give it away for free. MBAM is mostly volunteer work AFAIK and SAS were less than 10 with regards to staff.

    SAS is a good example, they were just sold after i don't know how many years growing and despite claims of 30 million users they were sold for a meager $8.5 mill, 2010 revenues was $2.5 mill, so no wonder they chose to sell IMHO. :)

    BTW. Hitman Pro is a lifetime license if you do not get infected multiple time.
     
  14. Criss

    Criss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    186
    Weird. It always auto updated without any problem in the past. Maybe i will try a reinstall then. ;)
     
  15. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,321
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Some details that might change your mind on MBAM can be found in this article; link
    (MBAM buys another company, MBAM will focus also on a corporate edition, has 40 staff, will open a European office for EMEA, etc).

    And back to HitmanPro discussion...
     
  16. Ariadne22

    Ariadne22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Posts:
    29
    I guess I don't understand all this 'free stuff' and 'lifetime license' conversations from the tech savvy posters on a product this good - especially for such a new company just getting its financial legs. My license is up for renewal soon. I intend to renew for 3 PCs - and will gladly pay for it.

    I am not tech savvy and did take advantage of a 30-day free trial last year to eliminate a redirect virus because of numerous internet raves on the success of Hitman. It did the trick. I was extremely pleased and bought Hitman at the end of the free trial. Running Trend at the time, which didn't block the virus, nor could it find it in its scans. The virus, in fact, corrupted Trend, so that since that time I've had no real-time AV because Trend was such b**tch to uninstall that I couldn't reinstall a fresh copy of it, or any other AV, and just gave up. Recently, tackled the job again and think I finally succeeded - not without many problems.

    Anyway, people, this is a startup company, as far as I know. They can't be giving anything away at this point. I love their product. Decided now I should be running a realtime AV. HMP is offering several choices on its website. Have so much confidence in HMP I prefer to get the whole package from HMP, if I can. Still exploring what's out there at this point.
    .
    *************
    What does this mean? I have had at least three infections since HMP was installed, the last one disabling - zero access. The others HMP got rid of mid-attack and HMP has since fixed the zero access, as well. Which is why I think I need a realtime AV - living on borrowed time here.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2011
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,037
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Lifetime license will never happen IMO! Do you think they get to use the Vendors applications for free? So if they have to pay then they need a consistent income and make money for themselves right?

    TH
     
  18. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    What some of you seem to be missing is that right now it is offered as a FREE lifetime product in terms of scanning. I haven't been infected in over 7yrs on the internet, on 5 different machines, so the chances of me being infected anytime soon are remote at best. So HMP is not making a penny off of people like me.

    I will not annually buy an on-demand scanner that I use 1 time per week, and never use its removal tools. However, if they offered a free life time subscription even at $100, I would buy it today. So while maybe I missed something in Economics class, it seems to me that HMP is missing out of a possible sale from me and people like me..................I will continue to enjoy HMP for as long as the company exists, and I will do so FREE of charge. :cool:
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2011
  19. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    So kind of you ;) Now open your wallet and support the company that you/we love! :isay:

    Edit: BTW why can't you pay for renewal once a year or so? (why are you against that model)
    IMO paying for renewal once a year is a much better business model than having the option to pay once for a life-time license, since that way it's easier for the company to have a good money flow wich makes it easier to survive.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2011
  20. eppehc

    eppehc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Has anyone seen this error when running Hitman 3.5 ?

    Hitman Pro has stopped working.
    A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.
    Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.

    Build 127 and it always stops at around file 7761
    Running Vista 32 bit.
    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2011
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,037
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Send in a support request!
    Code:
    support@hitmanpro.com
    TH
     
  22. eppehc

    eppehc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Will do thanks for the quick response.
     
  23. Ariadne22

    Ariadne22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Posts:
    29
    I had a similar issue a few weeks ago. HMP stopped scanning at various files, about halfway through the scan. I wrote CS and was told to change disk settings - which had no effect. My problem was zero access virus (I think).

    I did NOT get any type of a message that HMP had stopped working.

    Are you running another AV in realtime? Do a scan, quickly. The day after HMP stopped scanning for me, I had an antimalware attack which required a safe boot to get windows to complete a restore point - could not do it normally. Took over an hour to do that. Also, could not download any other AVs at all during this attack. Nasty.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011
  24. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    What ruined this product for me was not being able to choose where to install it. It just threw it into the Program Files folder in my OS partition without giving me any say-so. At least if there was an advanced install option, I didn't see it.

    To me this is essential. I would add it to my setup if this were remedied.
     
  25. carat

    carat Guest

    ... but don't forget: You could only use it for 1 computer :doubt: I think a lifetime licence won't make any sense.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.