Hitman Pro Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by yashau, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. AdamL

    AdamL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    France/Fife
    Hitman Pro

    Hi :)

    I found out about Hitman Pro on Wilders and wonder if anyone has a discount code they would be kind enough to let me use?

    I emailed support to ask and they advised me it would need to be through a reseller.

    Thanks!
     
  2. darthsideous666

    darthsideous666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Location:
    Secret Hideout on Coruscant
    Re: Hitman Pro


    Let me know what you come up with. I was considering the purchase of multi licenses but was informed by support that the only discount was already built into the pricing.
     
  3. AdamL

    AdamL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    France/Fife
    Re: Hitman Pro

    I will do :)

    If I understand correctly resellers get a 25% discount on the purchase price, so maybe we have a reseller here on Wilders who would be willing to pass on at least some of that discount to us?
     
  4. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
  5. AdamL

    AdamL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    France/Fife
    Yeah fair enough, no harm in looking for a discount...look after the pennies and the pounds will take care of themselves :D
     
  6. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,225
    Location:
    Outer space
    You can buy a product bundled with Hitman Pro from one of SurfRights partners in SurfRights shop and which is basically buying that product for the standard price and get HMP for free, but there are no places I know of where you can get it cheaper.
     
  7. AdamL

    AdamL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    France/Fife
    Yes correct, that way HMP is effectively free - unless you really cannot justify the expense of the other programme? I may well go ahead and buy HMP on its own although I have to admit I am tempted by the Prevx offer....:thumb:
     
  8. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    IMO HMP does the job so good i can just pair it with any light weight HIPS and surf the shark infested sites any given day..lol:argh: :argh:
     
  9. darthsideous666

    darthsideous666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Location:
    Secret Hideout on Coruscant

    o_O I have 6 computers I would like to add HMP on. If I did the combined product offer it would cost over $200 (US) :gack:

    I guess the overall pricing for HMP is not that bad for multiple licenses. It is just hard to justify in my mind when it is not real time protection.
     
  10. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    I got two cases of graphical glitches. Please see attachment.

    The case on the right occurs in some cases when pressing the Alt-key. Both are regardless of language as far as I can tell. I'm running Windows XP SP3 Pro 32-bit with all updates applied.


    Also, I noticed that during my translation to the swedish language, the strings for Critical system files and Do not delete have not been updated/added, so these didn't make it into my submission. If you send me an updated strings-file I'll gladly fix that though. :)

    EDIT: Checking further it seems like a number of strings were missing. New policies is one example.


    Cheers!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  11. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    223
    what is the difference between free version and paid for
     
  12. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Nothing.

    But when either the free license or paid license expires then you can no longer removal malware (just cookies).

    The multi-vendor cloud scan works always regardless of license. Scan is always free. Removal requires one-time free or paid license.

    Hope this helps.
     
  13. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    223
    yes thanks, thread so big could not find answer thanks again
     
  14. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    The right-click menu scanner of Hitman Pro is able to scan and detect malware in all file types (docx, rar, pdf...)?
    Thanks
     
  15. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Hitman Pro promoting Registry Booster?? i saw an ad after a scan.
    Free hitman pro license with Registry Booster!

    is that a valuable piece of software to promote with hitman pro??:rolleyes:
     
  16. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    Is possible to “tweak” Hitman Pro?

    In another thread (“Sandboxie Restriction Advice”):

    Maybe is possible to somehow force Hitman Pro to automatically launch and scan a designated directory every time a file is writen inside that directory?

    Probably "dreaming" to high... but how knows? :cool:
     
  17. JimboW

    JimboW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    273
    Has the "Scan with Hitman Pro" in the context menu been removed for free users as the option is now greyed out in the settings menu?

    I've just done a fresh OS install but I had that option before?
     
  18. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    The context option should be available to free users as well. You should first run a scan so that the setup dialog appears. Hitman Pro must be in the Program Files folder in order for the context menu option to be available.
     
  19. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    On my desktop Hitman Pro is the only thing running on-demand AV I use.

    My son, just helped out a niece using Hitman Pro. Before using rescue AV-disks, it is a lot easier to tell someone to try Hitman Pro. As long as you have an internet connection it seems to work fine (Hitman Pro, A2 Free, MBAM, SAS then install Avast free in Dutch). When internet is gone, you need the serious rescue disk tools.
     
  20. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,225
    Location:
    Outer space
    I helped a relative with Hitman Pro too. The internet connection was gone too, but I did a Force Breach with Hitman Pro which killed the malware's process and the internet was back in a few secs :)
     
  21. JimboW

    JimboW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    273
    Hi Erik.

    I've double checked this but the option is still greyed out. I'm puzzled, don't know why it's not working.

    Is there maybe a reg key I could try to try and get this working.

    Thanks for any help you can provide with this.
     
  22. John Bull

    John Bull Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    London UK
    Re: HMP vs MBAM

    I apologise for using this thread as a convenient means of asking two questions, both simple I presume.
    I am using the free version of HMP - 3.5.8 build 118, but assume the scan performance is the same.

    1. The scan only covers less than 12,000 files, whilst my other AM programs cover many more. AVG 2011 covers almost 20 times that many.
    How can HMP be a good choice if tens of thousands of files are excluded ?

    2. Does HMP include Rootkits in the scan ?

    Thank you
    John
     
  23. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Re: HMP vs MBAM

    Yes , its the same . The full version only last for 1/2/3 years . The free includes free removal for limited 1 month period.

    HMP is intelligent scanning program which scan only memory and critical areas of your computer for threats there and active threats. HMP does not check all your files for viral threat (classical virus) as AVG . Hitman Pro is not a substitude to your antivirus software , it is only a second opinion and a supplement.

    Yes , it does . Actually it is one of the best rootkit detectors and removers. :thumb:
     
  24. John Bull

    John Bull Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    London UK
    Re: HMP vs MBAM

    Brilliant 3G and thank you very much.
    John
     
  25. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    To be honest Hitman Pro's scan mechanism is really different compared to normal scanners.
    Normal scanners check all files against signatures.

    Hitman Pro uses fuzzy logic to make a selection of PE-files (.exe, .sys, and so on), only after that selection it starts to check those files in the Cloud. By hash code, if a file is unknown in the cloud it will be uploaded and analysed. See the website for more information.

    Hitman Pro scans the computer and rates each file based on its characteristics, such as:

    •Origin
    •File Entropy
    •PE analysis imports, anomalies common in malware
    •Discrepancies between API and raw data (rootkits)
    •Read locked files using SurfRight RawCopy
    •Activity (process, modules, handle, network)
    •Uninstall abilities
    •Visibility (window, tray icons)
    •Presence (location, icons, etc.)
    •Communicating with web servers
    •Imitation of trusted process names
    •Autostart methods
    •Meta data (publisher, version, description, product name)
    •Authenticode digital signatures
    •Compression and encryption
    •Probable sources (ex. IE cache escape)
    •Query public sources for security gossip and safety classifications

    After the file characteristics scan, around 0.5% of the files of your pc are of any interest to further analyse.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2011
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.