HIPS Enabled Black vs Blue Font/ Cust Help Form Fails

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by COSMO26, May 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    This is just to get this "On the Record" as I've failed to get an answer in two other Threads. XP SP3 .....................

    in Open ESS V5/ Setup/ Computer group all Enabled's are Blue-Active BUT HIPS "Enabled" is Black Non-active WITH a Green Check.
    Adv Setup has Turn On HIPS chk'd & Log is "On" for Diagnostics, Inform, Warnings, etc BUT HIPS Log is Empty.
    Home Module shows Max Protection.
    Probable HIPS module Install Failure?

    1st (Recommended) Cust Help (online) Form Failed & moved my Taskbar-SysTray to a Right Vertical Border and the 2nd Help attempt Failed & locked the CPU at 50%. Both fixed with drag back or re-boot.

    No help expected but FYI
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Is self-defense enabled and working fine? (ie. killing ekrn or egui via the task manager should not be possible)
     
  3. KC4

    KC4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Cosmo--Mine is the same way. Self defense seems to be fine as I cannot kill either process that Marcos mentioned from the task manager. I'm going to do a clean install soon and see if that helps. Win7 64 Sp1.
     
  4. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi COSMO26,
    Mine is the same. all blue except for the black font for HIPS. From what I see, the blue fonts can be toggled on and off by clicking on the blue letters. The black fonts, in this case only the HIPS, you can not toggle it on and off from this screen. You must do it in advanced setup and I am fairly sure it takes a restart to change, just as you have to restart after install in order for HIPS to fully activate. Hence blue for click-able and black for not click-able.
    I believe that the only time something appears in the HIPS log is when a rule has blocked some program or action.
    I do not believe it is a failure, it is just the way it was designed to be. I am pretty sure all is working fine
    HTH.....
     
  5. KC4

    KC4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Thanks for the info. puff. That makes perfect sense.
     
  6. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Thanks to all.

    I, too, Cannot Terminate egui or ekrn but thought it odd that Only One Setup member would be Black/Non-active and I presumed the worst.

    Do Not know why (recommended) Customer Help Form messes up my computer but will live with that for now.

    FWIW, still running both MBAM and SuperAS in Real-time with No Issues other than the Customer Help Form; I'm sure MBAM RTime was Disabled when I tried the form.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.