Help

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Jul 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    Last night I re-booted my PC several times, all was fine, this AM when I started the machine windows asked for my User account password. Trouble is I've never made a User password.

    What could cause this, how could i restore easily.

    Thanks
    Rico
     
  2. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    This might help, courtesy of a poster here:

    Heres what you do, when you log into windows go into classic login mode by pressing ctl+alt+del, if your not already there. Then type in "administrator" as the user name. If you didn't set THE actual Admin password (as alot of people dont and set up there own account with admin rights) the password should be left blank. just hit enter and your in under the Admin account. Set up a password for that and any account your using with admin rights.

    Secondly, if your in your computer and have admin rights. Select RUN type in CMD when the black CMD box appears type in "net user" (no quotes) this will give you a list of all accounts on your system, including the helpassist and support accounts. You might notice that there is an administrator account and other users. The great thing about this is you can change the passwords here without actually knowing them.
    Re-type Net user followed by the account name listed and a *
    example using soandso as the user name
    C:\Documents and Settings\soandso>Net user soandso *
    it then asks you to type in a password for the user. type carfully as you wont be able to see what you type,
    Conferm that password and your done.


    Look also here

    Let us know if it does the trick.

    philby
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2009
  3. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Philby,

    Thank You for the knowledgeable post:thumb:

    What I did, while waiting:

    Boot from "UBCD4Win" found 'merge' my last jv16 registry backup to (thought c:) merge was successful. Remove boot CD & windows still asked for my password.

    If I understand correctly: Having NEVER entered a user account password, I should have typed ""administrator"" for the password when windows asked for it?

    When jv16 reg merge failed, I used "lastknowngood' & windows did not bother me for the silly password thing.

    I then tried to do my Sunday backup & Macrium complained about, something about mft & wanted a chkdsk /f run. After that seems like things have settled down.

    Thank You Very Much
    Rico
     
  4. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello again

    I'm assuming your running XP (Pro?) - I think you should have just hit Enter.

    See points 1-3 here.

    Glad it's sorted anyway, even if we don't really understand what happened... :(

    philby
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2009
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    if you go in to safe mode is there an administrator account?
    if so login in to it. it wont have a password on that account.
    then go to control panel,users, select your user account and use the remove password option.
    then restart and try to login as normal it shouldnt ask for password now.
     
  6. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello odore

    So, for the administrator account it's:

    • ctrl+alt+del twice on XP Pro
    • safemode on XP Home...
    ...hitting Enter at password prompt in both cases...

    Is this correct?

    Thanks

    philby
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    using eiether xp home or pro the so called "secret administrator" account should appear in safe mode and have no password. this account can be used to take passwords of other accounts and any other admin task.
     
  8. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Thanks lodore

    Do you have any idea why the OP was suddenly asked for a pw? - just out of interest...

    philby
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    not a clue I havent heard of the situation before.
     
  10. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Ghost in the machine then...

    :doubt:

    philby
     
  11. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Guys,

    I did try just <enter> on the blank password space. It would not allow access. I also tried the 'Admin' account in safe mode, windows wanted a password here & likewise, would not take a blank field. OS = XP-Home.

    Thanks
    Rico
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.