HELP!

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by tutankamon, Dec 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    I had to format my hard drive, and I want to re install TDS3 ( also Port Explorer) when I try to instal TDS I get this message. C\Windows\system\msvbvm60.dll An error occured while trying to replace existing file.
    Delete File failed:Code 5 Access denied. Then a message about click Retry. Abort Ignore.
    I have tried moving/ renaming/ deleting this file but keep getting the message "this file is being used by windows"
    Any ideas?
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Tut, Firstly you could try ignore as the running version may work ok with TDS.
    If not, boot into safe mode and remove the file. Then reinstall TDS

    HTH Pilli
     
  3. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Addition to Pilli's good solution:
    Remove or rename adding *.old behind the name so you can go back if needed.
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Tut,

    I'll take it, your problem has been solved in the meanwhile?

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Forget to check back:
    you did close all running programs, virus scanners, TDS and PE and maybe firewall, wormguard (on some systems that one is necessary too, on mine not) , registyry protection, email clients, browsers, everything unnecessary (maybe you unchecked those items in Start > Run > msconfig > startups uncheck there those items, so after install and reboot you can recheck them back!)
    so have not TDS running while installing PE nor PE running while installing TDS nor anything else but windows itself and the install you want to make.
    After a reboot the files should all be free and ready to be overwritten if appropriate!
    After all this is ready, either reboot first or go back to that msconfig for those rechecks as after that you have to reboot anyway, spares you one time if possible.
     
  6. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Thanks to all who replied, I managed to re instal TDS3 by clicking on "ignore", I am now up and running.
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Godd news Tut :) Enjoy & don't forget to DL today's update :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.