help with spybot

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by cheater87, Nov 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    i remember when i first installed it it had something about if u wanted it to scan everyone or just yours i chose just mine to save time but i now want to have it scan everyone's. how can i have it do thiso_O i tried uninstalling and reinstalling but the thing never came up again. please help.
     
  2. RipVanTinkle

    RipVanTinkle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    I think you need to do the following after Uninstalling the program

    delete the Spybot - Search & Destroy folder in the Application Data folder
    which is in your profile folder under Documents and Settings
    and then re-install

    clean out your registry if you still have problems
     
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    how do i do the registry thing
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,694
    Hello,
    You will need a registry cleaner, like CCleaner or RegSeeker.
    But be careful, some entries might be false positives. Make backups before you delete found invalid entries.
    One of the best programs I found to do the job is TuneUp Utilities 20xx, 2004 or 2006. You can download the evaluation version for 30 days and clean your files, registry, optimize the registry, defrag the page file and more. If you like it, you might wanna invest and buy it. Very nice program.
    Mrk
     
  5. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    If you were to re-install Spybot you would see that there was no selection of "scan everyone's". The reason being is that Spybot by default scans the entire system for malware except cookies and temporary internet files....which is only scanned for the user that is currently signed on. Perhaps you are recalling that Adaware had that as a selection during install :doubt:

    Below is a link to a post by PepiMK(Spybot S&D Developer) commenting about this matter.

    This post---> Total Scan?, A single scan for all users Options

     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    k. its odd cause my bro had coolwebsearch on his account and i could not get rid of it and the computer froze and when i scanned on my account it didn't come up
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.