Help with Sandboxie direct access please!

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ratchet, Jan 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    I want to allow Firefox x64 variant Cyberfox direct access to Bookmarks,Passwords, Cookies, etc. It appears that the profile it is using is just my default Ff profile. I tried just giving access to the bookmarks but Sb doesn't seem to save the setting, for if I bookmark something while sandboxed and start a new session it's gone. What am I doing wrong? Also, if I decide to allow access to the whole profile do I have to list every file individually? Thank you!
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You can add the profile folder. No need to add files one by one.

    Bo
     
  3. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    Thank you, I'll try that.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Ratchet, I wanted to install the browser and see if I could figure out the specific files that you need to allow but I believe the browser can only be installed on 64bits machines. Am I right?

    Did you find a places.sqlite file in the Cyberfox profile folder in AppData? If there is one, that's the file you need to allow Direct access.

    Bo
     
  5. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    Correct! However, I found the error of my ways. After you list the program, you have to hit Edit/Add then enter the file or folder. Thanks again!
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Great. Next time, you can also use the "Add" button, navigate to the file and select it.

    Bo
     
  7. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi Bo,

    If I want to just give access to my bookmarks in FF, how would I go about doing it. Please treat me like a noob and give me precise instructions.

    Best regards,
     
  8. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    You can do that by just going to Applications>Web Browser>Firefox>then just check what you need!
     
  9. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Many thanks Ratchet. It has bookmarks and history combined. I want just the bookmarks only. Is there a way just for bookmarks only?

    Best regards,
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    No. Firefox stores bookmarks in places.sqlite. Browsing history is also stored there.

    http://kb.mozillazine.org/Places.sqlite

    Bo
     
  11. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Thanks Bo. Wish FF separated bookmarks and history. Many thanks to you and Ratchet.

    Best regards,
     
  12. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    So if you don't want History de-select "Remember" or select" Clear when..." in Tools>Options>Privacy or select

    In Firefox of course, not Sb!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.