help with Comodo if you please

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by iamnomad, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iamnomad

    iamnomad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    I could use some help with Comodo if you please. It seems you like it & it works well for you. I tried it & it drove me crazy with prompts. I used the "scan" option when setting it up but it kept prompting for weeks & it kept prompting for the same stuff......over & over. When I gave the OK, it took forever for the prompt to disappear.

    Anybody on the board encounter this??

    Thanks.
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i have not had this happen.

    heres what id try: upgrade to teh latest 2.4 (if u havent already) and set teh alert frequency to Very Low. Also if u have the Application Behavior Analysis enabled, it could be teh source of the popups. i dont use that feature so i dont know how "noisy" it is.
     
  3. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Did you check the little box at the bottom of each prompt that says "remember my answer"? When you do that, it won't prompt you again for the same thing until the cryptographic signature of an application changes, like when you update something. Really, after you've used all your applications that need network access, Comodo becomes set and forget. Believe me, if I can do it, ANYONE can!
     
  4. Mannaggia

    Mannaggia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Northern California
    I need a little help also. I installed Comodo firewall today. I use Firefox 2.0 as my default browser. Comodo asks me if I want to allow server rights to Firefox. If I check no, I can't connect to the internet. I didn't think it was a good thing to allow an app server rights. Comodo doesn't ask this question when I tried connecting with IE7. I don't want to stop using Firefox, but I don't want to be unsafe either.
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    allow Firefox. iirc Firefox requires a loopback and thats why u receive teh prompt for server access.
     
  6. Mannaggia

    Mannaggia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Northern California
    Thanks WSFuser. I'm glad it's nothing I have to worry about. I feel better now. :)
     
  7. cpj

    cpj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    I tried Comodo, but could not get my local network to connect to each other.. Internet was fine, but my limited ability prevented me from figuring out the settings to allow printer and file sharing between computers. It seemed ok other than that, and the fact that it could not get the IP address from the router without disabling the firewall. Once it got the IP address, internet worked OK, but no local sharing. Any help appreciated.

    CPeter
     
  8. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    If the printer is connected to the pc with Comodo, in order to share, Security-Tasks-Wizards-Define a new trusted network.
    I never used that facility so far, but i think this is it.
     
  9. scaa

    scaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    202
    First of all create a zone in security>Common tasks and name it maybe 'LAN' and then put your starting /finishing IP addresses in the dialog box.
    Next add it to the trusted zone in security>Wizards.
    Restart your computer and the lan machines
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.